Women’s Rights: Addressing Microaggressions

Namrata G. R. Raut
GirlsGetMAGIC
6 min readMar 8, 2023

--

I am a postdoctoral fellow, an investigator, a researcher, and, unfortunately, also a target for microaggression.

On a regular basis I am reminded that I am “lucky women have so many more opportunities nowadays.” I am reminded that success is optional because, as a woman, having a career is optional.

Recently I had an opportunity to present my work at a major conference where I met Nobel laureates in my field. It was the honor of a lifetime. This moment was a product of the perseverance, failures, and the investment of all my mentors. While I wish I walked away with only wonderful memories, I also left with a handful of remarks that undermined my success.

Here is a recap of one conversation between me and my friend.

Friend:Women are doing great. They have lots of opportunities nowadays. You know, men still have to think about so many things. They have to earn well so they can get married and take care of their wife”.

Me: “That applies to women too.”

Friend: “Yes, but still, men definitely have to earn in the family so they can take care of the family. Women making money is secondary. You know!”

I was frozen. This is not the first time I’ve heard these remarks, yet, I did not expect to hear them from a self-proclaimed well-educated and progressive friend.

Friend:I am not meaning YOU but in general.

Me: “That’s your mindset, and not everyone thinks like that. Not referring to me doesn’t make me feel any better. Sorry, I am not someone who will only react when it’s affecting me or mine in an issue like this.

I would be remiss if I did not say, not all men and women think like this or would make these comments. Many believe marriage is for having common ground rather than needing a woman to be secondary. Yet, this serves as a perfect example of the type of microaggression I regularly face.

THE FACTS

Women are still the minority in many career fields.

According to the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS):

● Less than 30% of the world’s researchers are women

● Less than 10% of the Fortune 500 have female CEOs.

● In the arts, women constitute ~30%.

● These numbers are even lower in developing countries.

7 out of 10 women report facing microaggressions in their career (Anderson 2022).

Microaggressions are insults, touches of sarcasm, jokes, putdowns, invalidations, and offensive behaviors that are experienced on a daily basis with or without the intention of demeaning the receptive end. They are targeted but not necessarily limited to gender, sexual orientation, race, religion, age, or mental health status. They can take place anywhere. I have witnessed the same level of microaggression in Nepal, where I was born, as I do in the United States.

Here are examples of microaggressions targeted towards women:

“She can take the notes.”

“Are you sure you can lift that? It’s heavy.”

“Women are terrible drivers.”

“Women can multitask.”

“Women are born organizers.”

“Women are always so emotional.”

“You’re overreacting. Is it your time of the month?”

“You’re married. When will you find time to start a family?”

“Can you pass out the food to everyone?”

— — cut off mid sentence in a meeting.

As a woman immigrant, the microaggressions are even more extensive:

“Your English is so good. How long have you been in the USA/Canada/London?”

“How were you allowed to come abroad to study and work?”

In my experience, most microaggressions are not intended to be hurtful. Sometimes it just comes as the established societal standard norms not realizing the rooted stigma. They can come from anyone: male, female, family, friends, colleagues, or strangers.

SIX CONSIDERATIONS

1. It is important that women share their experiences.

Talking about experiences that feel shameful can be uncomfortable or a disruption of norms. It can be incredibly difficult to share comments said by family, friends, and colleagues who you feel a loyalty to protect. I see this in the way we share using a qualifying statement like, “I haven’t seen them do this before, but…”

The only way we will make progress is if we start addressing these comments as they happen. In my experience, when confronted, most people take the suggestion into consideration and will work towards improving.

2. Closing the eyes doesn’t turn day into night.

We must do our part to change the dynamic for ourselves and for future generations. Correct, check, and respond to microaggressions as they happen.

3. Microaggressive comments are not funny or acceptable, no matter the audience.

“I was just joking!” and “Can’t you take a joke!?”

It was not directed towards you” and “I should not have addressed that in front of you.”

Microaggression is microaggression, even when the person or group affected is not represented in the room. Just because it’s said sarcastically or with jovial intentions doesn’t make it right. If you seriously want to work on your comedy, do not under any circumstance prey on ANY minority of ANY kind. It’s not funny; it’s mean.

4. Men and LGBTQ+ are victims of microaggression, too.

“That wasn’t very manly” and “Of course he cut me off. He’s a man.”

“You don’t sound or look gay.”

Microaggression won’t be solved with microaggression. Men are often stigmatized, too. They are expected to be masculine, not be weak, not cry, and not seek help during their struggles. One of the most impacted groups is the LGBTQ+ community.

5. So long as we uphold the patriarchy, microaggressions will continue.

Patriarchy is bad for women and equally detrimental for men. Patriarchy, as I see it, is using power to exclude anyone and everyone that goes against the set rules of power. Standing against patriarchy doesn’t mean you dislike or hate men. That’s a false narrative.

6. There are safe places.

I found my safe place at MAGIC, a non-profit that provides middle and high school girls, who are considering studying a STEM area, with a knowledge of tools and resources available for them to be successful. Given my background in science, this is an amazing platform that provides me and my mentees a safe place to learn and grow. I am able to organically show high school and middle school students what microaggression looks like while also setting an example as a positive woman in STEM.

FINAL WORDS

Change will not happen overnight, and together we can make a difference. There will always be few in complete denial of microaggression and bigotry, yet, I am very hopeful because I see things slowly and gradually moving in a positive direction. Thank you to all those, including men, who are helping make a difference. Please keep addressing what you don’t like even if you are the only one doing it.

To learn more, consider reviewing my other article, Women’s Rights are Human Rights.

I would like to thank Dr. Toniya Raut, Aaditya Adlakha, Dr. Pi-Chuan Chang, and Hollis Roberts for their contributions to this article.

Namrata is a neuroscience postdoctoral fellow, an advocate for young girls pursuing careers in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics), and an amazing MAGIC mentor. MAGIC provides middle and high school girls, who are considering studying a STEM area, with a knowledge of tools and resources available for them to be successful. Namrata has been an instrumental force in helping young minds develop confidence and skills they need to succeed in these male-dominated fields. While Namrata’s experience in a STEM career is shared by many women, including other MAGIC mentors, this article is a reflection of her personal experience and views.

--

--