Coupling Up With the Twosomes of Season 2

By Olivia Armstrong/HBO

GirlsHBOBingeGuide
Published in
4 min readJan 10, 2017

--

Laugh, cry, and obsess over these unforgettable exchanges from the (many) dysfunctional couples of the comedy’s sophomore season.

Hannah and Adam

Hannah: “You’re not being that nice to me so I don’t really understand why you’d even want to have me around.”
Adam: “Well, when you love someone, you don’t have to be nice all the time.”

Where things ended: Hannah grows tired of playing nurse (and being treated like garbage), and decides to dive, head first, into chasing her book dreams.

Hannah and Sandy

Sandy: “Oh, so this is about him.”
Hannah: “I’m not saying that. Although he was hit by a truck and it was my fault, so I have a little bit of guilt.”

Where things ended: Unable to set aside Sandy’s Republican ideologies (and her own hang-ups about Adam), Hannah ditches the sensitive pragmatist (Donald Glover) in favor of singlehood.

Did You Know? Episode 2, “I Get Ideas,” features Lena Dunham’s mother, Laurie Simmons, as Patricia, the art dealer who won’t hire Marnie.

Charlie and Audrey

Audrey: “I told you not to wait… The apartment is like 10-feet across. I think I’ll be OK.”
Charlie: “Yeah, I know, I know, but you don’t know anyone here so…”

Where things ended: Audrey (Audrey Gelman) and Charlie (Christopher Abbott) didn’t exactly mesh after Charlie decided to ditch his Bushwick musician facade for startup life. (Success comes at a price, friends). The fact he still isn’t over Marnie doesn’t help the situation either.

Hannah and Elijah

Elijah: “I have to get a mattress.”
Hannah: “No, don’t get a mattress. You stay in my bed and then we’ll use your room as a home gym.”

Where things ended: After discovering he slept with Marnie following a drunken round of post-party karaoke, Hannah kicks Elijah to the curb — but keeps all the furniture in the process. Not to worry, however: This isn’t the last the former couple-turned platonic roommates will see of each other.

Did You Know? Three days after the Girls production shot the club scene in Episode 3 “Bad Friend,” rappers Drake and Chris Brown duked it out in the very same space.

Jessa and Thomas-John

Jessa: “I’m embarrassed when we walk down the street because you’re so f*cking average. I tell my friends that you were a test tube baby just so you’ll have a little edge.”
Thomas-John: “This is the worst mistake I’ve ever made. You’re my worst nightmare.”

Where things ended: After one hell of an awkward dinner with Thomas-John’s well-to-do (albeit, hopelessly boring) parents, the self-destructive newlyweds partake in the fight of all fights, ending with Thomas-John cutting Jessa a check for $11,500, and Jessa ending up in Hannah’s bathtub.

Shoshanna and Ray

Shoshanna: “I can’t be surrounded by your negativity while I’m trying to grow into a fully-formed human. You hate everything!”
Ray: “Maybe you have to change. And then maybe you’ll appreciate my black soul.”

Where things ended: Ray’s pessimism needles Shosh all season. At first it was one of our resident grump’s quirky antics, but dating his “black soul” proves to be, well, challenging. The saddest part? Ray and Shosh are so good for each other… just not at the moment.

Marnie and Booth

Marnie: “You don’t have to pay me. I’m your girlfriend.”
Booth: “I didn’t realize I had a girlfriend.”

Where things ended: Marnie leaves Booth Jonathan— mid-existential crisis — on the floor of his wine cellar, crouching next to wo smashed, outrageously expensive bottles. Shortly thereafter, she sheds the Gold Plastic Dress and turns yet another page in her year-long chapter of uncertainty.

Adam and Natalia

Natalia: “I don’t like to be on top that much or soft touching because it tickles me and takes me out of the moment, but everything else is OK.”
Adam: “OK…”

Where things ended: Adam’s efforts to move on from Hannah are nothing short of forced. Though, if you’re going to rebound, totally nice Natalia isn’t a bad choice. Their relationship went from cutesy to sour, however, after Adam acts on one of his dark fantasies.

Did you know? Shiri Appleby (UnREAL) who plays Natalia, had a baby girl, named Natalie, shortly after filming her scenes for Season 2. Executive producer Jenni Konner says, “We’ll take it as a compliment.”

Marnie and Charlie

Marnie: “I want you. I know I’m a mess, but I want you. I want to see you every morning and I want to make you a snack every night. And eventually, I want to have your little brown babies and I want to watch you die.”
Charlie: “That’s all I ever wanted to hear.”

Where things ended: After having it out during brunch at Roberta’s, Marnie and Charlie partake in one adorably sappy makeup, despite braving a whirlwind year without each other.

Did You Know? The horror that is The Q-Tip Moment? “This happened to me in real life, you guys,” admits Dunham.

Hannah and Adam

Hannah: “You’re here.”
Adam: “Well, I was always here.”

Where things ended: The way to Hannah Horvath’s complicated heart? Charge to her rescue, break down her door, and swoop her up, mid-panic attack. Adam knows this and we are so very grateful these two are brought together, yet again — even if their idea of a fairytale ending is a bit different than most.

Watch the complete second season Girls on HBO NOW. Check out the Blu-ray or DVD box set of Season 2 for more fun facts.

--

--