They’re good causes, Brent.

How comedy account WeRateDogs took on a social mission and helped raise over $100K for doggos in need.

GoFundMe
GoFundMe Stories
4 min readJun 20, 2017

--

A guest post by Matt Nelson, creator of WeRateDogs.

How it started

The first GoFundMe I ever posted on WeRateDogs was for a family whose dogs I had featured multiple times because they always dressed up for the holidays.

At the time, I had around 150,000 followers. After I posted the GoFundMe, it took just a few hours for my audience to raise the $700 to get Molly (the increasingly uninterested one in the pics above) a proper dog wheelchair.

With this post, I realized how I could use my influence to help pups and their families. I shared two more GoFundMe links over the next month, one of which raised over $4,000 for a dog named Sam who had developed a tumor on his tail. The campaign was titled “Sam’s Smile,” and the image depicted at the top showed just that.

The idea of Sam not smiling was heartbreaking enough to get people to come together and raise the $4,000 needed for her surgery. Sam family’s couldn’t believe the response: “I don’t know what to say… as family we are speechless, touched and so thankful for everyone’s love and support through what was a very difficult time for us. We couldn’t imagine this kind of outcome and can’t thank each and every one of you enough.”

How it took off

I started WeRateDogs with the primary goal of making people laugh. Comedy was my passion and dogs were the medium that I thought would reach the most people. However, dogs have always been a massive part of my life and without a love for them, none of this would be possible. There has been at least one family dog in my life at all times. And that’s exactly what dogs were to us: family. Our dogs are part of the household, respected and appreciated like everyone else.

That’s why, to me, and many of my followers, seeing a dog in pain or going through health issues truly hits home—especially when the slightest comparison to your own dog can be made. Every dog owner knows there’s a possibility they could one day be in a position where they’re unable to care for their canine family member. That’s where all the generosity in the form of donations comes from. When they see a family, or even a single owner, struggling to do what they hope to never face, they take action.

Since I started sharing GoFundMe links nearly every week back in January, over $100,000 has been raised for 22 different dogs by followers of WeRateDogs. This process has been an incredible insight into what makes people donate money to a complete stranger. What makes people decide that this dog should have their dollar, or two, or five, or twenty?

My best advice for dog moms & dads who need to raise money

What if, god forbid, you just found out your dog needs surgery or treatment that you couldn’t afford? What can you do to convince people to donate some money to your cause? After sharing dozens of GoFundMe links and seeing the results, here is my advice.

  • My first recommendation is complete transparency.
  • Tell a full, detailed story and include a pic of the actual medical bill or predicted bill if at all possible.
  • Appeal to the logical side of the individuals you’re trying to convince.
  • Talk about what this dog has done for you and/or your family.
  • Let the reader develop their own emotions on your situation.

One thing that makes a big difference—for better or worse—is the pictures you use. Personally, I choose carefully when it comes to the pictures I post with the GoFundMe link. You also can add a picture to the very top of the GoFundMe. It will be the first thing people who click the link see.

  • Choose a picture that is clear and high quality, but also embodies the character of the dog.
  • If one pic can’t do this effectively, add more to the end of your story. I think the more the better.
  • This may seem like a silly thing to pay attention to, but from someone who is trying to make a career out of posting dog photos on the internet, I assure you it matters.

My final word of advice is to post consistent updates (pupdates) on your situation. People who donated are going to want to keep up with your story. If they donated to a successful GoFundMe, and can see the results of what they did, they are much more likely to donate to others in the future.

My audience, for the most part, is a collection of passionate dog lovers who understand the bond between canine and human. Sharing these individual stories to a demographic that personally either relates to or understands them is why it’s so effective. I plan to continue this method of giving back, for it truly embodies the pure, innocent feel of WeRateDogs.

Special thanks to Matt and his followers for helping out all these puppers and doggos. 14/10, would fave repeatedly.

--

--