How We Used GiveFlag to Get An Airline Refund

Michael De'Shazer
Giving Desk
Published in
3 min readOct 6, 2023

Two days ago, I was set to fly back home to Dubai from Kigali. The problem? A fuel leak. Flight cancelled. The next day, I contacted Expedia to figure out my refund options. I then found the Expedia terms and conditions from the GiveFlag chat.

Establishing liability via the AI Persona Chat within the GiveFlag Dashboard
Getting the research togethr from the analyst AI persona, Lina.

I then downloaded this from Expedia’s website and uploaded it to GiveFlag. From there, I generated a FlagShare (https://www.giveflag.com/flagshare/?i=5TaYuHlDKKJ):

Expedia TOS FlagShare

This was informative. Albeit, the most effective part was the ability to chat with the document by selecting the checkbox to the file below the chat, which verifies that with this notification:

Selected the checbox next to the file in the GiveFlag Chat to ask questions directly to the file, via the file analyst, Lina.
We continued on a further dialogue from here..

I was able to negotiate a free night due to Expedia’s duty of care and just having the Expedia ToS right in front of me with the customer service manager (with the added benefit of being able to ask it questions directly as we chatted). Free hotel night secured.

The airline, Rwandair, contacted me a few hours later and informed me that the flight would be ready at the same time that evening (as the previous night)and that I’d already been checked in. Wonderful.

However, when I arrived (and after waiting 3 hours at the terminal in Kigali), the airline cancelled the flight again due to “technical issues with the plane”. I went back to my hotel, and went on to search for Rwandair’s Terms of Service.

Original Response… Not what I was looking for (or so I thought)

First, I wasn’t getting what I thought I wanted, but I did find a service that helps passengers received compensation from Rwandair (as you can see above).

After specifically asking for what I needed (Policies from the airline’s site), I was able to find this URL with a wealth of other contextual resources.

Finally!

I converted this from a webpage to a PDF using https://webtopdf.com/

I uploaded that PDF for GiveFlag. Then, finally, I received this FlagShare (https://www.giveflag.com/flagshare/?i=gUACefH6K7U)

Interesting…

I had a bit of a chat with the dcoument by, of course, clicking the checkbox next to the file. Here Lina goes…

Consumer protection might need some help, but the info was useful.

Having AI handle your consumer rights is a powerful thing, and I hope more people can learn to take advantage of technologies like this to both proverbially and literally get where they are trying to go.

Finding phone numbers, was quite simple as well:

Contact made with right information in hand.

Problem solved.

--

--