Never Be Afraid to be Optimistic

Seeing the good in something doesn’t mean ignoring the bad.

Björn Jóhann
Glass Half Full

--

Photo by The Virtual Denise on Pixabay

2020 sucks.

2020 fucking sucks.

Covid-19 has ravaged the world. People have died. People have lost jobs. Every single human being on the planet has been impacted, usually for the worse.

Myself? When I was on a vacation, I was barred re-entry to my country of residence despite my visa. Lockdown restrictions have cost me my apartment, my friends, my possessions, and every other aspect of my daily life. I only had a tiny suitcase and a backpack to my name.

It was an unbelievably frustrating situation, one I could never have predicted or planned for. It led to months of pessimism and hopelessness. It permeated other aspects of my life, creating an obsession with checking daily Covid-19 infection statistics. How many people died today? How many infected? Is it in my community? Refresh, refresh, refresh, refresh.

It was a sickening addiction. I was powerless to stop the numbers from rising and equally powerless to stop myself from checking them. The obsession with negativity extended to politics, to personal tragedies, to negative news stories I swallowed whole on social media feeds. My pessimism for the future drowned out any hope of a solution.

--

--

Björn Jóhann
Glass Half Full

A queer, herbivorous, leftist Viking. I write about society, justice, and popular media. UChicago grad.