The Pandemic Allowed Me to Connect With My Ancestral Homeland

Covid-19 has taken so much. But remote work has also given back.

Björn Jóhann
Glass Half Full

--

Photo by Alex Talmon on Unsplash

I was in China when the pandemic started.

News of the virus crept slowly. Through students’ whispers as they filed in and out of the counseling center where I work. Through WeChat moments my friends posted. Underneath festive Chinese New Year decorations, women nervously scrubbed their hands with alcohol, the holiday’s cheery disposition replaced by fear.

And then, all of a sudden, it was inescapable. I could see more masks than faces. It was impossible to look a stranger in the eye without a panicked look. Do you have it? Do I?

On January 25th, I left Beijing— not to flee, but for a coincidental pre-planned vacation to visit family. The airport was one of the scariest places I had ever been: Hazmat suits, cotton swabs, temperature tests. As the plane took off, I felt an immeasurable sense of relief. I didn’t yet know that I wouldn’t be returning.

A few days into my vacation, my flight home was canceled. A few days later, my company told me it wasn’t safe to return. A month later, China revoked my visa.

I had a backpack, a laptop, five sets of clothes, and nowhere to go.

--

--

Björn Jóhann
Glass Half Full

A queer, herbivorous, leftist Viking. I write about society, justice, and popular media. UChicago grad.