Making the most of your first
60 days at your new job

Jake Smith
Glassdoor Design
Published in
5 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

October of this year, I was brought on as a brand designer here at Glassdoor. I was snatched from the jaws of creative stagnation, having landed in my previous job out of necessity, not out of passion. With a background mostly consisting of branding and consumer packaged goods, followed more recently by a brief stint in the world of higher education, joining the team here was the light at the end of the tunnel, and I ran straight toward it. Little did I know that my first project as a Brand Designer would be one of Glassdoor’s biggest promotional campaigns of the year — the Best Places to Work 2020, a list of the 100 best employers in the US (as well as 9 other markets) based on employee reviews. After 60 days, and putting the finishing touches on the BPTW campaign, I want to share some of the things that have helped me tackle this new role and make the most of my first two months at my new job.

Coming to the table with ideas from an outside perspective is invaluable.

Do your homework.

Before my first day on the job, I made sure to research as much as I could, so that I was in tune with what I perceived to be the Glassdoor brand language. Ingesting as much information as you can about your new workplace will help you join the conversation on day one. If you haven’t already — and if we’re being honest you really should have — you can take a deep dive into the company’s website, read blog posts, and check out their Instagram and Twitter. Take inventory of the tone of voice for the brand’s communications, photos and other creative assets, and make sure to note any gaps where you think the brand could grow! Coming to the table with ideas from an outside perspective is invaluable. Odds are there are quite a few of your co-workers who have been there for a while and don’t have the viewpoint you have being the newbie.

Asking the big questions has the potential to provoke new thinking in your co-workers.

Photo by Kaleidico on Unsplash

Ask questions.

Starting at a new job is a clean slate. A fresh start. And like all new endeavors, there are growing pains, and questions — lots of questions. So raise your hand, and ask as many as you need to be successful. Some questions are simple and quick, and will give you a concise answer that will help you to be more efficient in the short term.

“What’s the turnaround time on this project?”’

“Is there a brief?” (one of my personal favorites)

Other questions are bigger, more amorphous, and may not illicit simple answers. But, asking the big questions has the potential to provoke new thinking in your co-workers.

“How has this project been executed in the past?”

“Is there something that you’ve always wanted to do with the brand, but never had the opportunity or time?”

“Have we ever thought about doing -blank- like this?”

Asking questions shows that you’re present, and you’re trying to gain full control over this new role. It doesn’t mean you don’t know what you’re doing. The answers you receive will not only help you perform your tasks more efficiently and at a higher level, but will help potentially avoid mistakes and pitfalls that members of the team experienced before. And who knows, the resulting conversations could help push your new co-workers, department, or company into new frontiers. Or you could be spearheading some new brand initiative in the next quarter because of a discussion that started with a quick question. As always, the moral of the story is “there are no dumb questions,” so don’t be afraid to ask.

Photo by Danae Paparis on Unsplash

Bring your ideas.

It can be tricky being the new person on the team. You’re excited to be there and your new co-workers are excited too, but you’re also not looking to step on any toes during your first few weeks. But remember, they chose to hire you for a reason; whether it was your skillset, your personality, your experience, your thought-process, or a complex blend of all sorts of factors, you’re a part of this thing now — so bring your ideas to the table. Been following an awesome designer on Dribbble and you think a similar style is perfect for an upcoming campaign? Bring it up! Saw something on the company Instagram feed that you thought could be done differently or needed a little TLC? Let’s talk about it. This plays into my first point, but your outside perspective can be a breath of fresh air to your new team, so get your thoughts out of your head and in front of others.

Why should I learn how to use another program when I can whip designs out in no-time-flat using Illustrator?

Photo by Krisztian Tabori on Unsplash

Expand your toolkit.

It can be really easy to just settle back into old habits and press on with what you’re used to. Every designer knows Photoshop and Illustrator but showing an eagerness or desire to learn new programs will show your new colleagues you’re willing to put in the work. With my background in packaging design and branding, it would have been easy enough for me to stick to Illustrator as my main creative tool. Why should I learn how to use another program when I can whip designs out in no-time-flat using Illustrator? Well, because that wouldn’t push me forward as a designer. So in my first 60 days, I decided to at least begin to acquaint myself with new programs like Sketch. I’m no expert by any means, and no one expects me to be, but I can find my way around and my workflow has already started to integrate the things I’m learning. So figure out what your peers are using in their own work and adapt new methods into your toolkit, even if it’s rough at the start — remember how I told you to ask questions? Perfect opportunity! And if you have skills that have gone a little rusty, let your team know, and opportunities to brush up may present themselves.

Get to work.

After you’ve done your homework, asked your questions, and vetted your ideas, it’s time to jump in and do the work. Put on your ever-expanding well-curated chillout playlist and just do what you do best. Set the expectation that you’re dependable and can get things done. Be ambitious, take ownership, share your ideas, and don’t forget to check your ego at the door. Your new coworkers will thank you, and I’m sure your first 60 days will fly by. I know mine have.

--

--