Getting close to stuff — my journey into craft

I can’t remember what it was that made me taking up knitting as an adult (I have a terrible memory, as anyone who has seen me struggle to remember names of attendees at a workshop will attest). But I do remember the black and pink scarf that I made for my friend in my second or third year of uni, how proud I was when I made it, and how happy she was with the gift.

Clair McCowlen
Global Action Plan
3 min readJan 16, 2018

--

My first steps into knitting involved neon colours and cheap yarns, perfect for a beginner learning a new skill, and I still have all the things that I made for myself back then. When I wear the hats, scarves and arm warmers that I knitted, I can picture where I was and what I was doing at the time I made them, and that makes me really happy when I wear them.

Why knit with just one colour, when you can have all the colours! One of my first knitted projects that I made for myself. Also my first own design.

Getting in touch with the materials

Over the years I have made friends within the online crafting community (a wonderful mixture of creatives and geeks, where I feel very much at home), who have taught me new techniques, but also set me on the path toward understanding the different types of materials. Understanding that wool is only wool if it’s from sheep, that there are loads of other animal fibres that can be used for knitting (including alpaca and camel) as well as plant fibres like bamboo or cotton. Understanding that most cheap yarns are acrylic (plastic) and can contribute to microfibers being released into the marine environment.

Turns out I have friends with wool allergies… but cotton can make a super soft baby blanket. Are you starting to see a rainbow based theme with my knit projects?

I am now much more aware of choosing my materials, picking the right ones for the job, thinking about what fibres are used, where they have come from and whether they support local communities and small businesses. Knowing this makes me more proud of the things that I make, and creates more of a relationship with them.

Crafting and wellbeing

I use the crafts that I do now, primarily knitting, crochet and embroidery, almost as a form of meditation. Crafting is also a delightfully portable hobby, and I almost always have a project tucked in a bag for me to dig into on the go. There’s lots in the academic literature now about the wellbeing impacts of things like knitting. Both the calming and repetitive action of knitting itself, and the positive feelings associated with having made something tangible both lead to an incredible sense of wellbeing. And it’s a feeling that repeats when I wear the items, or see others wearing items that I have made for them.

Seaside knitting. What’s not to love?

And now I’m starting to get the rest of my work colleagues on board… lunch time crafting is becoming more popular, with people supporting each other to learn new skills, and this Christmas all our new office decorations were handmade!

--

--

Clair McCowlen
Global Action Plan

Bi, feminist, drummer, geek, crafter. She/her. Technical Development Manager for an environmental behaviour change charity.