A 60’s Housewife & Slow Cooked Bolognese Sauce

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
2 min readOct 13, 2011

I bought a slow cooker a few weeks ago, and now I’ve got mixed feelings about it. On one hand, it’s fantastic, as it does all the work for me. On the other hand, I feel like a 1960’s housewife who should be radiantly smiling while cooking instant mashed potatoes, and, of course, donning a cute little apron.

So, when I decided to try my hand at making Bolognese Sauce in it, rather than using my regular stovetop method, I wore my loveliest apron and smiled as big as I could. I really think it contributed to the success of the sauce…

After several hours of cooking, the result is a thick, garlicky sauce that owes its heartiness to browned ground beef, and its slight tanginess to a hefty helping of tomatoes. Assemble it first thing in the morning and cook on low for 8–10 hours, or start it in the afternoon and cook on high (as directed in the recipe), and come home to a wonderful dinner at the end of the day.

Spaghetti and Bolognese Sauce

Bolognese Sauce
Serves 4–6

Ingredients:
1 pound extra lean ground beef
1 medium/large sweet onion, finely chopped
3 large cloves garlic, smashed and minced
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 stalk celery, finely chopped
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
½ cup red wine (plus another ¼ cup for you to drink while waiting…)
1 (156ml) can tomato paste
1 (796ml) can diced tomatoes, with juice
1 cup strained tomatoes
¼ teaspoon sea salt
4–6 servings cooked pasta
Freshly grated parmesan and ground pepper, to serve

Instructions:
1. In a large skillet, cook beef until brown and crumbled; drain excess oil and transfer to slow cooker.

2. Add the remaining ingredients (excluding parmesan and ground pepper), stir to combine, and cover. Cook on high for 3 hours, stir, and serve over cooked pasta of your choice. Serve with freshly grated parmesan and ground pepper.

Housewife Photo: Anne Taintor

--

--