Christmas Fun & Dorie Greenspan’s Speculoos Buttons

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2012
Speculoos Buttons

I know what you’re thinking. More cookies? Yes, more cookies. See, it’s almost Christmas and I’m off to the mountains for some fun in the snow {this primarily includes tobogganing, skating, horse-drawn sleigh rides, and me drinking winteresque cocktails in the lodge while everyone else skis}. I’m going to need a snack or two to keep my appetite satiated while doing these extremely strenuous activities {notably the drinking of cocktails}.

Speculoos Buttons

Enter: Dorie Greenspan’s Speculoos Buttons. They’re featured in this month’s Bon Appetit, my belly, and in Greenspan’s gorgeous book, Around My French Table {though the recipe in the book is slightly different}. They’re adorable little bites of just-right spiced goodness, and they’re easy enough to make without trashing the entire kitchen {you know the kind of recipes I’m talking about: flour handprints on your pants, egg shell in your hair kind of recipes}.

They’ll be the perfect little morsels to nibble on while partaking in all of my upcoming Christmas activities, and surely they’ll do the same for you… even if you are the kind of person who considers skiing to involve a pair of skis, poles, and bolting down a mountain at a ridiculous speed {pfft…}.

Speculoos Buttons

Check out the recipe* for Speculoos Buttons here, and get baking — they’re a heck of a lot easier to make than the cut-out variety, and a box of these guys makes a lovely Christmas present {hint, hint}!

Mountain Snow

*note: I included a teaspoon of cornstarch to make sure the cookies remained a bit softer, and replaced the vanilla extract with vanilla bean paste, just for a slightly heavier vanilla flavour.

--

--