Exotic Ingredients and Spicy Chicken Vegetable Stir-Fry

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2011

“What’s this?” I asked, pointing at a strange looking vegetable while exploring a market in Southern Thailand. I was alone that day, feeling adventurous, trying my hand at the local bus system while searching for some new food. Part of my extra confidence was due to the fact that I was still on some heavy antibiotics that a doctor told me to take — even though I didn’t have an infection. Preventative measure, I thought, now I can eat whatever I want and not get sick!

Oh, how one’s judgement fades when away from home.

I was wandering around this market, camera in hand, pocket full of baht, ready to buy an assortment of exotic treats. “What’s this?” I asked again, receiving only looks of confusion in return.

A young woman grabbed my arm, saying “English! English!” frantically. With a smile on her face, she brought me to one of the vendors. She said something quickly and excitedly to the man, and he came around to the front of his table to stand next to me.

“I speak English,” he said with a heavy accent, “I will show you.”

He walked with me around the market, telling me what each ingredient was, and its use. I bought skewers lined with balls of spicy chicken, a bag of fresh peanuts, and a dozen mangosteens. When we approached a stand selling banana leaves cupping something white, the man could not explain what it was in English. The young girl behind the table grabbed a clump of the white stuff between three of her fingers, took my face in her other hand, and shoved the sweet, sticky substance in my mouth. It was good. Mashed fresh coconut and condensed milk and dried beans. Next, she took a ball covered in sesame seeds and shoved it in my mouth. Don’t make a habit of this, missy! I thought.

With a full stomach, I left the market, glad that I was on antibiotics, and excited about all of the different foods I had the opportunity to try.

On the same trip, I also had the pleasure of attending a cooking class at the Smart Cook Thai Cookery School. There, I learned to cook a variety of authentic dishes, and even got a cookbook out of it! If you’re ever in Thailand, make sure you check it out.

In the meantime, here’s a recipe for Spicy Chicken Vegetable Stir-Fry. If you want to have more of a truly Thai experience, try this recipe for Thai Basil Chicken Cashew from Steamy Kitchen. It’s easy to make and is unbelievably tasty!

Spicy Chicken Vegetable Stir-Fry
Serves 4

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon oil
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved horizontally and thinly sliced
2 cups broccoli pieces
4 medium carrots, thinly sliced
4 stalks celery, thinly sliced
4 scallions, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, smashed and minced
1 bell pepper, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
4 heads baby bok choy, roughly chopped
3–4 tablespoons Chili Garlic sauce
2 dashes reduced sodium soy sauce
1 dash fish sauce
1 teaspoon lime juice
1 cup pineapple tidbits (fresh is best, but canned works)
½ cup unsalted cashews

Instructions:
1) Heat oil in a wok over medium-high heat and add chicken. Cook until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear.

2) Add the next 11 ingredients (broccoli through lime juice) and continue to cook, stirring constantly. Cook until vegetables are crisp-tender, about 5–7 minutes, and then add pineapple and cashews. Stir, cook for another minute, and remove from heat. Serve immediately over noodles or rice of your choice.

Have your say: What’s your favourite exotic ingredient? Let me know in the comments section below!

--

--