Mexico Dreaming & A Recipe For Chicken Tortilla Soup

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
4 min readFeb 9, 2012

I woke up the other morning thinking I was in Mexico. I dreamt I was strolling along a little beach near Tulum, with Bob Marley’s rhythmic words pouring out in the distance.

Tulum

{sun is shining, the weather is sweet… yeah}

I had a lovely day planned: snorkelling, picking up some fruit at a local market, and, of course consuming mass amounts of margaritas and spicy tostadas.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

{make you want to move your dancing feet now}

I was so convinced I was there, I could smell the salty ocean air and feel the sun warming my bare shoulders.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

{to the rescue, here I am. Want you to know, y’all… can you understand}

It was inevitable, however, that I’d open my eyes and discover I was a world away from a sunny Mexican beach.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

{when the mornin’ gather the rainbow… yeah, yeah}

I slowly lifted my lids, blinked once, twice, three times. Outside my window was the forest; an owl hooting from nearby branch still concealed by the pre-sunrise darkness.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

{want you to know, I’m a rainbow too now}

Slowly, I inhaled the smooth, comforting aroma of coffee brewing in the kitchen. The scent piqued my senses, and I sat up, recalling my dream.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

{to the rescue, here I am. Want you to know, y’all… can you understand}

If I couldn’t be in Mexico, I’d bring Mexico to me… with this simple, spicy Chicken Tortilla Soup. When I make this soup, I let the scents of the ingredients and sizzle of the chicken take me back to my dream; with the hot sun on my shoulders, and Marley’s song playing in my head.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

{Sun is shining, the weather is sweet now}

Chicken Tortilla Soup
Serves 4

Ingredients:
THE SOUP
1 teaspoon grapeseed oil
2–3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
½ large onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, smashed and minced
3 stalks celery, thinly sliced
2 jalapeno or chili peppers, thinly sliced
1 bell pepper, diced
Juice of ½ a lime
4 cups reduced sodium chicken stock
1 (28oz/796ml) can diced tomatoes, with juice
1 (19oz/540ml) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 teaspoon chili powder
¼ cup chopped cilantro, plus more for serving (optional)
Tortilla chips

TO SERVE (optional)
Chopped cilantro
Guacamole
Chopped green onions
Sour cream
Shredded cheese

Instructions:
1. In a frying pan, heat the oil over medium-high heat, and add the chicken. Cook chicken for 2–3 minutes on each side, or until browned. Transfer to a large pot. Add the sliced onion, garlic, celery, hot peppers, bell pepper, lime juice, chicken stock, diced tomatoes, black beans, and chili powder. Cook over medium-high heat until it reaches a boil, and then reduce temperature to low. Simmer, covered, for 1–2 hours, or until chicken is fully cooked and vegetables reach desired tenderness; stir in cilantro, if using.

2. Remove chicken breasts from the pot and place on a plate; shred chicken with two forks and divide among serving bowls. Ladle soup over top of chicken, and top with tortilla chips and desired toppings; serve immediately.

SLOW COOKER OPTION:
Brown chicken as in step 1, and place all ingredients in the slow cooker. Cook on low for 7–8 hours or on high for 3–4 hours. Stir in cilantro, if using, and pick up at step 2.

--

--