Potato Math & a Recipe for Warm Roasted Potato Salad with Kale

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2014
Roasted Potato and Kale Salad - Global Dish - Stephanie Arsenault

If you know me at all, you know that I’m a meat and potatoes kind of girl. No, that’s a lie. I am neither of those things.

In fact, I am everything but a meat and potatoes kind of girl. I grew up in a meat and potatoes household {and, apparently, am trying to reach a record for the amount of times I can say “meat and potatoes” in a short amount of time}, and, to be honest, I have tried to avoid the combo for quite a while.

My dad grew up in Prince Edward Island, so he’s about 76% potato himself, making me about 38% potato {is that right? I don’t do math}, so I have a natural hatred toward the root vegetable. I know. That makes me a terrible person, hating my own DNA, but I can live with it.

Roasted Potato and Kale Salad - Global Dish - Stephanie Arsenault

It’s just that I grew up on boiled potatoes. I’m sure many people find them delicious, but if they’re included in your dinner every. Single. Day. It becomes a little much. Since I’m only 29% {or whatever} potato, I don’t have that overbearing desire to have them in every meal. I truly couldn’t care if I ever ate another potato again, where if my dad doesn’t have one for a day or two, he starts twitching and hallucinating and says things like, “I don’t remember the last time I had a potato!” Okay, another lie. Actually, just the first two things, the last one is true.

That said, if a potato is prepared any other way than in a pot of boiling water, drained, and then placed on my plate to be all mushy and flavourless, I’m happy to eat it. Like if it’s fried, roasted, or put in a salad, I’ll eat that potato like it’s nobody’s business. Or like I’m 46% {or something like that} potato myself.

This Warm Roasted Potato Salad with Kale covers two of my three {that’s about 67% or two thirds, for you math whizzes out there} preferred potato-serving methods, so it’s guaranteed to be a good one. Go ahead, get your spud on.

Warm Roasted Potato Salad with Kale
Serves 4

Ingredients:
2 pounds baby potatoes, skin on, halved
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/3 cup mayonnaise
½ cup finely chopped fresh dill
1/3 cup roughly chopped green onion or chives
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2–3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 cups finely chopped black {also known as Tuscan or dino} kale
Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:
1. Place the halved potatoes in a large pot and cover with cold water add a generous few dashes of salt, cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat slightly and open the lid a bit so it doesn’t boil over.

2. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

3. While the potatoes are cooking, make the dressing. Combine the yogurt, mayo, dill, onions or chives, and lemon juice in a small bowl; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Cover the dressing and refrigerate until ready to use.

4. When the potatoes are slightly tender {after 15–20 minutes}, drain well and transfer to the parchment lined baking sheet. Drizzle generously with olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and bake in the preheated oven until golden {about 20–30 minutes}, stirring often.

5. Let the potatoes cool for a few minutes, and then transfer to a large bowl. Add kale and dressing and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper, if needed, and serve immediately.

Roasted Potato and Kale Salad - Global Dish - Stephanie Arsenault

--

--