Salsa Love & a Recipe for Black Bean Salsa Salad

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2013
Black Bean Salsa Salad Recipe from Global Dish

Last week I picked up the current issue of Food Network Magazine, and inside there was a little booklet with fifty different variations of salsa and guacamole. Need I say more? I feel like the only appropriate reaction to such a thing would be impersonating Saturday Night Live’s Molly Shannon as Sally O’Malley saying, “Fifty!” while kicking my leg up as high as I can.

Black Bean Salsa Salad Recipe from Global Dish

Naturally, the next day I made three of them; well, sort of. I was inspired by a few variations, and made a pico de gallo, a pineapple and mango salsa, and a black bean and corn one. I wanted to eat them forever. Of course, salsa and chips doesn’t make for the most balanced meal, so I decided to make the black bean and corn one again, but add a few ingredients to make it just a little more hearty. Topped with Cajun grilled chicken, the Black Bean Salsa Salad turned out to be pretty darn tasty… tasty enough to eat for three meals in a row.

Black Bean Salsa Salad Recipe from Global Dish

Now, I think I’m going to need to get started on those other 47 variations.

Black Bean Salsa Salad Recipe from Global Dish

Black Bean Salsa Salad
Serves 6–8

Ingredients:
4 cups cooked and cooled quinoa
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
1 large tomato, diced
1 green onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, smashed and minced
1 (341ml/12oz) can corn niblets, rinsed and drained
1 (540ml/19oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 teaspoon dried cilantro
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Juice of 1–2 limes, to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste
Fresh cilantro, for garnish (optional)

Instructions:
Mix first 8 ingredients (quinoa through cilantro) in a large bowl. Add oil, lime juice, and salt and pepper, to taste. Top with fresh cilantro, if desired.

Black Bean Salsa Salad Recipe from Global Dish

--

--