Some Like It Hot (salsa, that is…)

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
2 min readJul 8, 2011

I like my salsa hot.

I want my tongue to burn just a little, and my lips to crave an ice cube’s company.

I don’t want to be in pain, but I do want that nice burn — that good burn that makes me feel two degrees warmer and makes the rest of my food just thismuch more exciting.

I know I’m not alone in this.

I know you like it too…

… and this is how it’s done.

Roasted Salsa
Inspired by Classic Roasted Salsa
Everyday Food Magazine, June 2011

Ingredients:
4 medium-sized vine ripened tomatoes
3 jalapenos, stems removed
1 medium-sized white onion, peeled and halved
3 cloves garlic, skin on
Juice of 2–3 limes, to taste
Sea salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste
A handful of fresh cilantro (or parsley), finely chopped

Instructions:
1. Preheat the broiler in your oven and place the rack in the top position. Lightly grease a large cooking sheet and spread out the tomatoes, jalapenos, halved onion, and garlic cloves on it. Place the sheet in the oven, and broil for about 6 minutes, moving and flipping the ingredients often. Remove them from the oven when cooked, and let cool on the sheet for about 15 minutes, or until cool enough to handle.

2. Place the jalapenos and garlic in food processor and pulse until roughly chopped. Add the onion, and continue to pulse until roughly chopped. Add the tomatoes and half of the lime juice, and pulse until desired consistency is reached. Stir in the remaining lime juice and salt and pepper to taste, as well as cilantro. Serve warm or chilled; will keep for up to 3 days refrigerated in an airtight container.

--

--