This Omnivore’s Dilemma, Beef Pierogi, and a Writing Retreat for Foodies

Stephanie Arsenault
Global Dish
Published in
5 min readMar 15, 2011

Throughout my life, I have had a complicated relationship with meat. Just before my 10th birthday I watched an episode of The Simpsons that focused on Lisa and her new-found vegetarianism — it involved an adorable lamb and Paul McCartney. I was an impressionable kid with a love for The Beatles, and I was convinced.

I, too, was going to be a vegetarian.

Fast forward several years to the day my dad’s friend supplied our family with a ridiculous amount of organic, fresh ground beef from his very own farm. My parents used it the first night to make burritos, and my mom took it upon herself to offer me a bribe (she was worried about my health as I was a tofu-hating, iron-deficient, raw vegetable-eating vegetarian. Yes, the worst kind.).

“Eat a burrito with the beef and I’ll buy you a new outfit. Anything.”

Anything” was the magic word. School photos were coming up, and I was a typically shallow teenager with a receding love for The Beatles, and I was convinced.

I was no longer going to be a vegetarian.

Many years have passed, and while I’m still not a vegetarian, I’m most certainly an omnivore with high standards. Luckily, I’ve got a family who knows how to cook beef just right; let me introduce you to them:

My brother grills up the tastiest steaks on earth. I can’t even order one at a steakhouse — they just don’t compare.

My mom makes the best burger patties (chock full of onions, garlic, and a beautiful medley of spices), but my dad cooks them to perfection.

My Babcia, my mom’s mom, makes awe-inspiring pierogi. Though she’ll often make them with potato, sauerkraut, mushroom, prune, blueberry, or cottage cheese filling, sometimes she’ll get her hands on a great cut of beef, grind it herself and make these dumpling-like mounds of deliciousness. Trust me. They’re that good.

With a family like that, how on earth could I be a vegetarian? I swear I will never let a cartoon character, an adorable lamb, or a member of The Beatles take me away from these delectable dishes ever again.

Babcia’s Beef Pierogi
Makes about 32
Total cooking time: approximately 45 minutes

Ingredients:
1 large yellow onion, halved, 1 half finely chopped, 1 half diced
½ kilogram Canadian ground sirloin or extra lean ground beef
Salt and pepper, to taste
¼ cup finely chopped parsley, divided in half
2 ½ cups all-purpose flour, plus more for kneading
½ teaspoon sea salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
½ cup warm water
¼ cup sour cream, plus more for serving
1 tablespoon oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon sea salt (for the water)
1 tablespoon butter, melted

Instructions:
1) Heat a medium frying pan over medium-hight heat and add the finely chopped onion and ground beef. Cook through and drain any excess oil, and add salt and pepper to taste and ½ the chopped parsley — transfer to a bowl and set aside.

2) Whisk together the flour and salt. Make a well and add the egg, water, sour cream, and oil. Mix just until you form a soft dough (add more water, one tablespoon at a time, if necessary) and turn out onto a floured surface and knead just until smooth. Divide in half, cover with a damp towel, and let sit for 10 minutes.

3) Roll out dough (keeping unused dough covered) to 1/6 cm thickness. Cut out rounds, using a lightly floured glass, and place about 1 teaspoon of the beef and onion mixture in the centre. Fold the dough over and pinch the edges together to seal. Cover prepared pierogi with the damp towel until all are ready to cook.

4) Heat 1 tablespoon butter in a small frying pan and cook the diced onions for about 5 minutes, or until golden and translucent. Season with salt and pepper and set aside.

5) Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and drop in the pierogi, a few at a time, and cook for 3–4 minutes, until they puff up and float to the top. Remove with a slotted spoon and place on a wire rack over a large dish or towel. Brush with melted butter. Repeat with remaining pierogi. Sprinkle with cooked onions (you may want to re-heat them) and chopped parsley, and serve hot with sour cream on the side.

Want more information on Canadian Beef? Check out their site for nutrition facts, recipes, cooking lessons, and more. Also, be sure to check out Eat, Write, Retreat if you, like me, are a food writer looking to learn more about cooking, writing, and photography, while networking with a ton of great people! Canadian Beef is sending five lucky Canadian bloggers to the retreat in Washington, DC, in May; find out more about how you can go by clicking here.

--

--