Remarks at the 2016 Global Entrepreneurship Summit: Travel for a More Peaceful World

Yasmine El Baggari
Global Entrepreneurship Summit
5 min readJun 24, 2016

I am humbled by the support from so many after giving remarks at the Global Entrepreneurship Summit, as well as by Secretary John Kerry’s mention of Voyaj this morning.

At 17 years old, I left Morocco and landed in Kansas, in the United States of America as a member of a cultural exchange program sponsored by the U.S. State Department. The YES program sparked my dream to travel to all 50 United States. I wanted to learn about American culture first hand and I wanted to break down stereotypes about me as a Muslim woman from North Africa. During the following five years, I traveled by Greyhound buses around the U.S. I was so impressed by the warm hospitality from the more than 150 families who shared their lives and their homes with me. As of today, I have visited 39 states and another 40 countries thanks to the generous welcomes from people I’ve met. As I approach my goal to visit 50 States by this August, I am reminded that my view of the world has changed and I am positively transformed because of these one-on-one interpersonal experiences. Incredible understanding and openness is always possible, as previous strangers became friends, and even family. I felt the need to share these values, and promised myself to provide others with these same opportunities– to connect, learn, bridge cultures and travel, and this is why I founded Voyaj.

The Voyaj mission– to reach out to like-minded people to deepen our abilities to communicate and for understanding on a global level– perfectly aligns with President Obama’s vision for the Global Entrepreneurship Summit (GES)– to identify how we can deepen ties between business leaders, foundations, and entrepreneurs in the United States and beyond. The Voyaj team was inspired by the strength of our aligned missions and we were happy to provide 15 Voyaj-GES Ambassadors Voyaj one-on-one meeting. In addition, activities in San Francisco were planned for 15 GES delegates, each with their unique perspectives from their respective countries. These activities led to authentic intercultural exchanges during the two days leading up to the GES.

Voyaj is an innovative, online platform that connects people from around the globe for one-on-one meaningful exchanges. Because we use algorithms that match travelers and hosts that consider interests and values, the Voyaj community as a whole shares the goal to foster greater understanding between people and cultures through authentic exchange. By breaking down barriers and stereotypes we can all benefit from global understanding and tolerance, in our international business dealings, and in our goals for global peace.

Night Out with a few Voyaj Ambassadors in San Francisco

This 2016 GES is a milestone for me. I am happy to return to Stanford, the University I first visited with my uncle as a teenager after arriving in the U.S. to learn English. I measure the road traveled so far. Today I am confident that interpersonal cultural exchanges open our hearts and minds and enhance our awareness and self-development. The stage is set as we now put special focus on empowerment, education, engagement, and entrepreneurship.

Photo during Voyaj — Ingressive Brunch in San Francisco

Back in 2013, the GES was a starting point for me. The 5th GES was held in my home country, in Morocco. I was invited to speak at the roundtable of Vice President Joe Biden. I sat next to him, and shared my story. As a 20-year old female entrepreneur I received an opportunity to be heard by respected international figures. Perceptions shifted, and my vision to help create a more tolerant and peaceful world was suddenly validated and more possible. Thereafter, many opportunities would open. It was the beginning of my journey.

The 2013 GES also facilitated my contact and future collaborations with Akon and his team. Together, we brought 30 African youth from 22 different African countries on a Voyaj experience to San Diego last summer. Joined with the Tony Robbins African Youth Leadership program, our collaboration encouraged cross-cultural exchanges across Africa and beyond. This globalization translated into opportunity for all involved. New life-long relationships formed that will positively impact the youth and our world into the future. These opportunities and partnerships have inspired me to doggedly pursue scaling up my efforts for positive global impact.

Photo with U.S. State Department Officials before Remarks

In this spirit, Voyaj launches our collaboration with the Global Entrepreneurship Network (GEN) and the SPARK Coalition in support of President Obama’s Global Entrepreneurship Summit (GES) 2016. This collaboration is another reason to rejoice as we strengthen the capacities of young entrepreneurs and help them to develop as professionals and thrive as individuals.

Throughout my journey, I learned that what unites us is stronger than what separates us. Voyaj was founded to be the platform that will unite us. My journey across the world began in the United States as I discovered the warmth and generosity of hundreds of families. I am home. It still encourages me to break down barriers and stereotypes, and to share our commonalities. I strive to unite us, and to create safe environments to exchange and promote dialogue.

I was inspired by Antoine de Saint Exupery, writer and explorer, creator of Le Petit Prince who wrote, “If you differ from me, far from diminishing me, you enrich me”. Today, I feel that my sharing this vision is within reach. The excitement and desire for Voyaj is palpable. Today I am confident that we are ready for the world.

I welcome everyone to sign up either as a host or as a traveler– or as both at www.voyaj.com or request an invitation at yasmine@voyaj.com

Photo Credit: Brenda Violeta Razo Flores, Mexico

--

--