CONTENT-ISTA : How to be a Fashion Blogger in 5 minutes

Christina Jaouhari
Global Luxury Management
4 min readSep 14, 2016

--

If you’re hoping to turn #Instagramfamous like Kanye West or break the Internet like Kim Kadashian with my tips on content…maybe this isn’t the best blog for you.

I will take you step by step in the process of CREATING CREATIVE CONTENT. Creative content isn’t limited to one picture, but rather a mix of media.

This past week I have spent my days creating style content, similar to the ones that fill up my Instagram feed. Creating the content itself was not as time consuming as: downloading, editing, posting and sharing it all. Styling content must be:

Current, Constant, Creative

Remember…Current, Constant and Creative.

The Process of Creating (Current, Constant, and Creative) Content

1. Have a Vision

2. Bring Awesome Friends ( like Bach Salao and Thomas Bensoussan)

3. Uses Free Apps to Edit- Photofy

4. Watch the Engagement Come

MY EXPERIENCE

Strike a Pose

I started off by taking pictures. My first photo shoot was in the parking lot of Trophy’s Brewing in Raleigh, NC. Yes, there were cars parked up to the wall; and no, you would have no idea. It’s all about the angle, be creative with the space that you have, and DO IT FOR THE LIKES. No one has to know the struggles you went through to take a picture or video. For my first picture, I received amazing engagement on platforms such as: Facebook, Snapchat, and Intragram. The engagement was quantified by receiving over 100 likes and a number of comments.

Photo Credits: Thomas Bensoussan

You can get creative with your content by adding templates and artsy text! (The following picture was made through the Photofy app)

Collaborations are Fun

If you want to mix it up, bring a friend into your pictures. Collaborate with your styles. Your styles could compliment each other, or embody different styles (casual vs. dressy). The options are limitless. The key notion to remember is, have FUN!

The following picture is a collaboration with Bachirou Salao, a classmate of mine. While another friend of mine, Thomas Bensoussan, took the picture. I initially posted it on Instagram and shared it on all of my platforms. The content received more likes and engagement than my typical pictures. It gave my audience a creative and different look to styling, targeting a wider audience.

Featuring Bach Salao, Photo Credits: Thomas Bensoussan

Snapchat Addict

Nothing speaks to Millenials like a trendy Snapchat. It doesn’t have to be fancy with geo-filters or effects. Sometimes the simplest content gets the most engagement. Be true to your brand and audience, and the geo-filters will follow after! Here are a few examples of the Snapchat content I created during my photo shoot. I got over 100 views and a number of personal messages, all of which helped promote the engagement of my content for the week.

Clip of the Day

It isn’t often that you run into a style blogger that posts a ton of videos; however, when you do caught one you’ll remember it. A video provides the audience with an experience like no other, allowing them to truly engage in the content.

The following video was pulled together from second-long clips taken during my photo shoots. I did it all through my phone using IMovies. YES, it’s that simple.

I received engagement, likes and comments, from this video. People were asking were certain outfits were from, relating to the location and enjoying the “behind the scenes” perspectives.

The Summary

Content can be created anywhere, with anyone and at all times! You make the rules to the content you create, so have fun with it. When creating content don’t use just one more of media, mix it up. Be sure to use all platforms, adding variation in your content. Lastly, when creating content never forgot to be:

Current, Constant, and Creative

A special thanks to my dear friends, Thomas Bensoussan and Bach Salao, for not only making content, but memories with me!

Until the next photo shoot, be sure to follow their AWESOME Instagram accounts: @bacsse, @thomas.bns!

This post was created as part of the Global Luxury Management Program at the NC State Poole School of Management. All thoughts and opinions are my owns and reflect my personal point of view.

--

--