“Content marketing is like a first date. If all you do is talk about yourself, there won’t be a second date.”

Malak LARAKI
Global Luxury Management
3 min readSep 14, 2016

Dadid Beebe

Let me start by saying that no, unlike most of my GLM classmates this week, I did not create any content for this week’s blog post. Call me rebelious if you will (maybe I am actually) but I decided to answer this week’s topic in my own way.

So what were we asked to do? We all had to create some content, preferably luxury related, to share on different platforms such as Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook for example. Our goal was to observe and analyze how our followers/friends will engage and react to our posts so that we can write about what are the do’s and dont’s of social media content.

Well here is why I did not do it: clearly, rule number one when it comes to social media is to post relevant quality content that your followers actually want to see. On the one hand, creating content in a rush would have lead me to create bad content and on the other hand, school related content on my Facebook — where I only share personal thoughts and pictures — would have met zero success. Therefore, analyzing what I new in advance was going to be a failure would not have been very interesting for my blog post.

Source

You see, I am not being rebelious, I am actually willing to do my job and to do it well, which is why I believe that in my case it would be more interesting to analyze successes and failures of existing brands, rather than sharing how my content creation experience was a disaster.

Rule number 2 is do not spam. There is no need to post 20 pictures per day to engage with your followers, it might actually just make them unfollow you. With that said, you still better share content on a pretty regular basis rather than every other week. It is really all about finding the happy medium.

Source

The third thing to keep in mind is that your followers are here so you can sell them the dream, not the product. Social media is all about story telling. If you’re focusing on selling your product instead of creating a need, then you will most likely not engage anyone.

Source

There are other things that I would like to share with you here about content creation such as creating consistency in between all social media platforms, consider collaborations and actually socialize with your followers and people in your niche… But as I previously said, it is better to keep things short to keep your audience interested.

With all that said, you should be aware that no matter how great your product/brand is, you will not be able to reach everyone. What we have been told on and on again in pretty much all of our classes is that you cannot be all things to all people. But how about you just focus on being the best thing for some (or most) people?

Source

This post was created as part of the Global Luxury Management Program at the NC State Poole School of Management. All thoughts and opinions are my own. #Luxemarketing #NCStateGLM

--

--