Take a Peek into the Life of a Godiva Customer

Suzanne Phillips
Global Luxury Management
4 min readSep 19, 2016
https://www.colourbox.com/image/a-happy-family-eating-chocolate-on-christmas-day-image-1209945

Meet Marcia. Marcia is 38 and lives in the suburbs outside of Charlotte, North Carolina. Her friends describe her as kind-hearted, organized, and spunky with a make-it-happen attitude. Marcia is a partner of a wedding planning company in Charlotte that plans high-end weddings for the busy, modern woman. She partners with venues such as the Ritz-Carlton and Omni to design gorgeous, memorable weddings.

Marcia has a wonderful husband, Daniel, who is Director of Financial Services for BB&T. He is very analytical, but is extremely caring and loyal which Marcia loves. They have two precious daughters, Cara and Lizzy, who are 7 and 9. The girls both attend Charlotte Day, a private school near their gated community.

Marcia is an optimistic, passionate woman who lives every day to the fullest. She starts every weekday by driving her girls to school in her Subaru Outback and then goes on a 30 minute run. She has a serious sweet tooth, so she finds time to stay active to counter-balance her food indulgences. Her weekdays are busy with client meetings, venue visits, phone calls, and her favorite…cake tastings. On the weekends, she spends time going to her daughters’ soccer games or having family adventures to the mall, movies, or parks. She loves hosting dinner parties so she can enjoy chardonnay with her girlfriends.

I met Marcia the other day, waiting in line for at Starbucks. We bonded over double-shot Macchiatos. She began to tell me about her life, and I realized she would be Godiva Chocolatier’s perfect target customer. I was interested in the role chocolate plays in her life, so she generously lent me her journal:

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/418412621602298746/

January 17th: Happy birthday to me! :D We had the most wonderful family day together. It started with the blessing of sleeping in for once! Then I woke up to the sweetest homemade breakfast, a decorated table, and homemade cards. It was so precious! We took the girls to the movies to see Moana. I can already tell Cara isn’t going to stop singing the songs for weeks. We brought the girls home after and left them with a sitter so Dan and I could go out to a special dinner. It was wonderfully romantic- he treated to with Dom Pérignon at Ruth’s Chris (my favorite!). And of course, he got me the same birthday present as the year we started dating- my favorite mixed box of Godiva chocolates. Some traditions never get old! Feeling so blessed by my family ❤

August 23rd: Mommy-daughter day! Back-to-school shopping can usually be a little stressful, but today was a fun-filled day. Since Cara had gymnastics, Lizzy and I had some one-on-one time. She was having so much fun, getting all of my attention to herself. She flounced through Justice and Aeropostale while I tried to keep up. We got her all of the clothes she needed, then mommy needed a break! I took her out, for an extra special treat, to the Godiva store in the mall. We shared chocolate strawberries while she went on about her excitement for her new sparkly clothes! The happiness on her chocolate-smeared face created a memory I’ll keep in my head for a long time.

October 14th: Oh how I love October weddings! The colorful leaves and crisp air make for the perfect outdoor setting. The Powell’s ceremony was stunning, and went off without a hitch. And I must say- the bride was WAY more calm than I expected. But I’m exhausted writing this right now. Running around at the crazy reception was exhausting. You never know what to expect with drunk bridesmaids! Now, I’m just grateful for this moment of peace before bed. Best decision I made today: Nabbing 2 boxes of the leftover Godiva trios from the party favor table. YUM.

Marcia portrayed the perfect Godiva customer. Godiva customers love to treat themselves, enjoy life, and appreciate special moments. Marcia, thank you for giving us a peek into the life of a Godiva consumer!

This post was created as part of the Global Luxury Management Program at the NC State Poole School of Management. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

#NCStateGLM #LuxeMarketing #SocialMedia John Andrews #TargetMarket #TargetCustomer #Chocolate

--

--