Scroll, Like, Screenshot, Reblog, Scroll

Chandler Mills
Global Luxury Management
3 min readSep 23, 2015

--

“Reformation liked your photo.” What could be more exciting than getting recognition from a brand that you love? For the purposes of this blog post; nothing. NOTHING! It’s so fun!! Especially when it’s something you made especially for them. These past few weeks, I’ve had the pleasure of creating content for one of my favorite brands and sharing them in a few different ways. So let’s talked about what worked and what didn’t, shall we? Of course we shall!

My Twitter post (Image from Reformation’s Pinterest).

Last week, I shared a blog post I had written on Pinterest curation to Twitter. Maybe I should preface this by saying I have 20 followers on Twitter. I don’t love Twitter. I want to love Twitter! But I don’t; it’s too much work to enjoy, you can’t just scroll your feed and be engaged for hours. I need hours-of-engagement-rabbit-hole-level-crap to love a social media platform. Ah! I just realized, I should have posted to my Tumblr! But Tumblr is kind of a sacred community, you shouldn’t reveal your identity. That takes all the fun out of it. Anyway, I didn’t get much love on my own Twitter account. However! A certain social media savvy professor posted my article to his Twitter account which managed to get my views and reads up on Medium — which is super satisfying.

Image from my blog post posted to Facebook. (Image from @breez_lance)

Next, I posted my favorite article I’ve written to Facebook, because you know — people like know me on there. And guess what? Six people liked it!!! And not all of them were students from our class! Ok so five of them were and one was my boyfriend. Who I’d already made read it anyway. What was interesting to me about this along with the Medium functionality is that I could track the views and reads. I liked plenty of other people in our class’ posts on Facebook but I didn’t read them, so I doubt those 5 likes actually read my blog post. However, after posting it to Facebook it received 17 views and 10 reads. So that means 10 people who didn’t want to admit they read it, read it. Which is awesome and just goes to show that just because you don’t get love from everyone on social media, doesn’t mean they aren’t paying attention. Right? Yeah, I’ll tell my boss that later.

And now for the meat and potatoes. Instagram. My one true love. Not really but ok. I posted three pieces of content created by me (well I had someone help me photoshop this because I was a little rusty). I tagged Reformation in my posts and ta-da! They liked one of them! And they commented on it! A couple days went by and they commented again and said “Check your DM!” And I freaked out and ran around a couple times and then I checked my direct messages and there it was, Reformation asking if they could reblog my photo on their Instagram. I was like uhh hells ya! Also are you hiring interns? To which she said yes, in the summer and gave me her direct email address. Literally still dying over it. So, to date, my post on their Instagram has over 3,000 likes. Which only goes to show, if I have the right followers, I can make shit happen. Right? That’s what it shows right? ;-)

This post was created as part of the Global Luxury Management Program at NC State Poole College of Management. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

--

--