Gaining A New Appreciation For Gin

Kevin Wilkerson
Global Nightlife
Published in
2 min readFeb 29, 2024
The classic martini. Photo: PubClub.com

My perception of gin is different than that of other spirits.

It is one of sophistication, men in business suits discussing wordly issues in a dark and classy lounge after work, upper-crust women in nice dresses sipping martinis over an expensive lunch.

This is far different than other spirits. Tequila, for example, brings forth visions of slugging margaritas at the beach while wearing bathing suits and flip flops or slamming tequila shots at a bar. Rum is being on the water, on a boat watching the sunset, listening to Jimmy Buffett.

That is one reason I have left gin on the shelf. Another has to do with one of those youthful ugly experiences we all have with one spirit or another, but overall it did not seem to fit my carefree lifestyle.

Well that perception changed somewhat when I attended a gin cocktial event hosted by Ford’s Gin. It was at dark and classy bar – a huge chandelier hung from the ceiling and there was plush seating along the wall – and included a martini fountain! Even a gin non-drinker such as myself can appreciate a fountain of martinis. Put a glass under it and an olive in it, and you’re good to drink.

But what really turned my attention to gin was a cocktail called the French 75. I had known of it but not about it, and did not realize it mixes champagne with gin. I instantly liked it. I also quickly realized how it got its name, for it’s like being hit with the famous French artillery piece from World War I. So I had two more.

As a result, instead of turning away from gin when I see it on a shelf, I’ll now give it a look. I won’t embrace it like tequila or rum but I’ll take my shot at a French 75 cocktail anytime.

Kevin Wikerson is an AP award-winning journalist who publishes PubClub.com.

--

--

Kevin Wilkerson
Global Nightlife

Award-winning journalist and blogger for PubClub.com. I write about bars, nightlife, food & drink, travel , music & sports.