Meet Portland Global Shaper Jesse Pyrch #ShapersinNYC

A Q&A with Jesse Pyrch, Marketing & Alliance Coordinator of Real Leaders

NYC Global Shapers
Global Shapers New York Hub
3 min readApr 14, 2016

--

Jesse Pyrch, Portland Global Shaper

Q: What’s your name?

Jesse Pyrch.

Q: Which hub are you from?

Portland, Oregon.

Q: What brings you to New York?

A healthy combination of business and pleasure. I will be attending a book party with a Portland Shaper celebrating Arianna Huffington’s new book The Sleep Revolution. The following morning I will be meeting with a representative from the United Nations Global Compact to discuss ways to advance the 17 Sustainable Development Goals through the global media organization I work for Real Leaders. I’m hoping to attend a baseball game to watch the Yankees play the Astros on Thursday, but the weather isn’t looking promising — I must be bringing the rain from Portland with me. I’m particularly excited to have coffee and breakfast with fellow Shapers from New York on Friday to get to know each other and explore ways to work together. The last two days I plan to be a tourist, spend time with a childhood friend and friend from college, and watch the 2016 Masters Golf Tournament.

Q: What are you working on?

Through my career I’m working on advancing the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, developing a new area of focus for Real Leaders called Young Real Leaders, and acting as a speaker representative for a CEO of a commercial real estate company who is speaking on the benefits of gender balanced leadership. In my personal life, and through Global Shapers, I am the Membership Chair working on recruiting more Shapers to our newly formed Portland Hub. I’ve presented a project to our Portland Shapers which aims to implement Ashoka’s Youth Venture Program at a pilot school in Portland. The idea of creating the next generation of social entrepreneurs in a scalable manner excites me a lot!

Q: What matters to you? And why?

I’m a big believer that business is the most powerful engine on the planet for doing good or doing harm. Due to this belief I’m a huge proponent of for-profit social enterprises as a way to create sustainable long-lasting change. Practicing what I preach, I work for a for-profit social enterprise that is a Certified B Corporation, a company that meets rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency.

Q: What does being a part of the Global Shapers Community mean to you?

I’ve lived in or around the Portland area my entire life, and having the opportunity to give back to the place I call home with like-minded aspiring young professionals just feels right and makes me happy.

Jesse (center) with friends at Arianna Huffington’s NYC book launch for The Sleep Revolution

Q: What is something you want readers to know about you?

I’m half Native American and an enrolled Absentee-Shawnee Tribal Member. My Native American name in Shawnee is Gelige pe Yase Kiki, which translates to the first bird to jump.

Q: What kind of impact to you want to make on the world?

I hope to make the world a more sustainable, just and peaceful place for all the people, animals, and plants living on it.

Q: What’s the toughest challenge you are facing right now?

Getting people across the globe to have a sense of urgency in creating a more sustainable planet for all.

Q: What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

My grandpa once told me,

“To find true joy, find a purpose in life and take it seriously.”

It’s a quote that sticks in my mind everywhere I go.

Q: For what in your life do you feel most grateful?

To have a loving group of family and friends. As well as being a happy and healthy.

Q: Something you wish we asked but didn’t?

Favorite sports team — Portland Trail Blazers, who I have season tickets for.

Have other questions for Jesse? Ask him on Twitter @JessePyrch503

--

--

NYC Global Shapers
Global Shapers New York Hub

Young people committed to improving the state of New York City & the World, for ALL.