DCON promises to fans that ICON Nation will be a one in a lifetime experience

Global 12 news
Global Sounds
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2020
  1. How did the concept behind the “Icon Nation” came about?

The Icon Nation’s concept came about when my team & I decided to build my brand & in doing so, we came up with the union that will act as a bridge to me & my supporters. This is Icon Nation.

Get your tickets here

2. You’ve said that creating “Tuesday” was a big highlight. Can you bring us back to the moment?

(Laughs) Yes it was. ‘Tuesday’ was actually written on a Sunday. A friend of mine had sent me a lot of beats so I was free-styling to them in class, then the beat for Tuesday came up & I fell in love with it. A few weeks later, on a Sunday morning, I got the inspiration to write the song so I did just that.

3. Are the fans going to get a music video for Tuesday anytime soon?

Yes, definitely.

4. Your latest freestyle video over XXXTentacion “$$$” is one of our favorite videos. What was the process of getting the freestyle together?

X is an artist whose music I really enjoy & $$$ is a song by him that I really like. I downloaded the deluxe version of his ? album & his team was generous enough to put the instrumental to $$$ there. As I mentioned, I already loved the song so I just had to drop my own bars to the instrumental.

5. Do we have a date for the release of the music video?

I don’t have a definitive date for Tuesday’s music video just yet, but it’ll definitely be out within the next few months.

6. At what point while you were creating music did you decide you wanted to make it a career?

Music has always been something I’ve wanted to do for as long as I can remember. But before I actually got into songwriting, I used to write poems. But back in 2017 I watched the music video for HUMBLE by Kendrick Lamar & after finding out he was a budding poet turned MC, I knew then & there that I had found my true calling.

7. What do you hope your legacy will be?

Well, I call myself DCON the icon & that goes far deeper than just being a catchy name that rhymes. The dictionary definition of an icon is “A person or thing regarded as a representative symbol or as worthy of veneration.” & that’s the exact legacy I want to leave behind. So that one day, when the greatest in the game’s name’s are being called, DCON will be there.

8. You have the live experience coming on Saturday May 16th. What can the fans expect?

Yes, it’s called Icon Nation Live & I’m very excited for it. It’s going to feature some of my tracks, released & unreleased, some guest artists & so on. It’s going to be an online music festival, well, because we can’t really have actual festivals for now.

9. How can fans follow you on social media?

My Instagram & Twitter handles are @dcontheicon & my YouTube channel name is DCON.

Get your tickets for ICON NATION here

--

--

Global 12 news
Global Sounds

Blogs and updates of the most promising artists around the world.