Rapper Blackson launched the DNA Challenge this week, and fans are fighting for a slot on the remix.

Global 12 news
Global Sounds
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2020

1. How did the idea of the DNA challenge came about?

The idea of the challenge came out after considering the topic and the quality of the song with the Shodement Ent team. The song talks about my real-life experiences of the past so I thought that that could’ve been an opportunity for up-and-coming rappers around the globe to get a chance to get exposure and to feature me on the remix. Plus the fact that the beat was hard!!!

2. You’ve said that creating the new single coming “DNA” was a big highlight for you. Can you bring us back to the moment?

I remember that one night I was on youtube looking for beats to buy and I stumbled across the one of “DNA” and I thought: “This beat is fire!!!”. I was so gassed that I immediately contacted PREMISE (the producer of it) and I bought an unlimited license from him. It took me a while to actually get in contact with him cause he’s American and because of the time zone difference, he replied to my emails the night after. While waiting for the confirmed transaction I was already writing the lyrics, it literally took me 45 min to get the song done. the week after I was in the studio with Ngbeatplug recording the track.

3. The “Real Talk freestyle” is one of our favourites. How did the collaboration with Real Talk happen?

To be honest it was nothing strange you know?? I simply got contacted by the production team as they were interested to see what I could do on the mic for this new format. The rest of it is history.

4. Who are some of the DNA freestyles on social media that impressed you so far?

To be fair they all have something that I dig. I love the fact that even African rappers decided to take part in the challenge showing me how the song topic could’ve easily become something else. Overall I’ll say Toffa and Muso, two different styles but they both killed the beat!

5. How can new rappers get the instrumental for the DNA challenge?

To get access to the beat they have to send a request email in any language to Hello@shodement.com, and they’ll receive a reply with the link for the download of it.

6. Do you have a new album on the way? or you cant say?

Yes, I can finally announce that I’ve got an album on the way, It took me a bit to work on it because it’s a journey of who I am and what I represent. I’m really happy to share it with the world once it’ll be ready.

7. At what point while you were producing did you decide you want to make music?

To be honest, I never produced, I was always an mc. I first started with the rap battles in the 2000s building up my name in my city and in Italy, after a bit, I decided to focus more on the songwriting aspect of rapping and the year 2016 I released my first ep call “Hafa ep”. from that time on I worked in some group project with 2 different crews releasing “Ci scusiamo per il disagio” with Hard Knox and “MancaMelanina Mixtape” with MancaMelanina Crew.

8. What do you hope your legacy will be?

The first Afroitalian to break boundaries of the Italian and international music industry. People from around the world will love my music even if they don’t have a clue of what I’m saying and the Italians will be represented by me and what I do.

9. You have a new Facebook live experience on April 25th. What can the fans expect?

The fans have to be ready to get loads of energy and skill. In a “Genre-Bender Mc” so anyone will find the type of sound they like.

10. How can fans follow you on social?

You can find me on

Facebook @callmeblackson

Youtube Channel @CallmeblacksonTv

Instagram @ callmeblackson

Twitter @ callmeblackson

Support the Blackson DNA Challenge here

--

--

Global 12 news
Global Sounds

Blogs and updates of the most promising artists around the world.