Singer Olivia King wants you to select songs for the new E.P, and fans might be in love already.

Global 12 news
Global Sounds
Published in
4 min readApr 20, 2020
  1. How did the concept behind the “Help me choose songs for the E.P” live came about?

I’ve been working on this with Shodement for a couple weeks now. With everything going on in the world right now, we felt like it was the perfect time to entertain and give people something fun to look forward to. I know especially on the weekends, I’m looking for games to play via FaceTime with my friends and family so this live experience of fans and friends choosing the songs for my upcoming EP will be so cool! They will be my Simon, Paula, and Randy’s of this EP. I need them to be my judges and vote on what they need to hear on this next EP!!

2. You’ve said that creating “NBD” was a big highlight. Can you bring us back to that moment?

I actually flew to LA a few months ago to work on an EP. The whole thing ended up not working out and I started panicking a little because I had just spent all this money to be in LA for a week and it all fell through. I reached out to a producer friend of mine in ATL and was like “I need your help! Do you have any connections out here you can hook me up with to work?” That’s when he connected me with Celeste Williams. She immediately sent me ‘NBD’ and I knew it was a huge hit. I usually write all of my own songs but when I heard this one, it was SO me! I needed it and we made it happen!

3. “All on Me” is one of our favorite songs. What’s your relationship with the producer behind it?

I have an AMAZING relationship with her….it’s ME! This was my first single I ever dropped where I both wrote and produced the track!

4. What are some of the best YouTube videos you have on the way?

As soon as all of this craziness is over, my ‘NBD’ music video will be dropping! When all of this started, we were rehearsing weekly with my dancers. I can’t wait for you guys to see this one! So, in the meantime, I’ll be posting a lot of videos of things you can do to entertain yourself while at home! Tie Dying your clothes at home, how to do at-home nails, etc.!

5. Does being a female in a male dominated industry affect your art?

I think it’s now affecting it in a positive way because 2020 is ALL about Female Empowerment, females supporting females, etc. I love when I can get into a room full of female energy and create music!

6. What do your parents think?

They have always been supportive since day 1! They even told me I didn’t have to go to college if I didn’t want to because they believed in me. Crazy right?! I still went lol!

7. At what point did you know you wanted to sing?

When I was in third grade, I sang in my church choir. As we were rehearsing one day, my friend leaned over to me and said “Liv I think you might have a pretty good voice. You should try out for the solo.” I was like “no way, I’m way too scared!” Then the choir director asked who wanted to come up to try out for the solo and my friend raised my hand for me! I wanted to kill her lol! I ended up getting the solo and the rest is history! I loved performing ever since!

8. What do you hope your legacy will be?

I want to be known as a role model in the industry. I think it’s important for kids to have someone to look up to that is respectable but totally themselves and honest in their music. If I can be this for even just a couple people, I will feel like I succeeded.

9. You have the Olivia King live experience coming on April 25th. What can the fans expect?

I’m SO excited to share my new music with my supporters and friends! This is the first time I’ve ever done anything like this and I can’t name another artist who I’ve seen do this…let the fans pick the songs on the EP? Kind of unheard of!! There will still be the element of surprise when the EP drops just because they won’t be “live versions.” The difference it makes to put harmonies and layer vocals to make it sound super clean and professional will be fun for the listeners to hear! They will hear such a difference!

See you guys on Facebook & Instagram @ 5PM EST

10. How can fans follow you on social?

Everything across the board is @oliviakingmusic — I’m most active on Instagram and TikTok so make sure to hit me up on there! I ALWAYS respond!!

Join Olivia King live on April 25th here

--

--

Global 12 news
Global Sounds

Blogs and updates of the most promising artists around the world.