Singer songwriter Sophia Lee will introduce her brand new Merchandise on May 9th

Global 12 news
Global Sounds
Published in
3 min readMay 4, 2020
  1. How did the concept behind the Merchandise came about?

I’m very into spirituality so I wanted to link my merchandise to this. My merchandise will contain positive and motivational quotes linked to my music. I really wanted to create something that wasn’t cliché, I wrote music to resonate with people so it only makes sense that my merchandise does the same.

2. You’ve said that creating "Money & Love" was a big highlight. Can you bring us back to the moment?

I remember having the chorus of money and love going over and over in my head one day. I was cleaning and going about my business and had to stop so I could write it down and record it on my phone.

I remember sitting down and thinking of the first line ‘I don’t need a wasteman’ and just laughing to myself and thinking it sounded like a conversation with one of my friends.

3. “Fxck Boys” is one of our favorite songs. What’s your relationship with story behind it?

When I first told my band I’d written this song they were all laughing and rolling their eyes lol. They honestly thought it was a song about man hating or something but it actually ended up being their favourite song too.

It was always suppose to be a love song about a special relationship making you realise your worth and saving you from making anymore mistakes with anyone else. It felt good to write this song, it really hit the feels!

4. Does being a female artist in Birmingham affect you at all?

Being a female artist anywhere affects us, we are often overlooked and not taken seriously or supported in the same way. I recently spoke on this in an interview with BBC introducing after being part of the amazing ‘QUEENDOM’ album, which is an all female album featuring some real talent.

Ultimately as female artists we are given an expiry date, that’s by our age and if we have children. After a certain point the industry discards us as unsellable, it’s something that’s rarely discussed but I know it’s a struggle all female artists have. That’s why the music industry is very much male saturated as male artists don’t have the same limitations on them as we do. I do have to say though I do feel change is coming and I’m proud to be part of that change.

5. What do your parents think?

My Mum is a big supporter of mine, which is a long stretch from when I first started as initially when I started music as a teenager I’m pretty sure she thought I was crazy. My family are really proud of my accomplishments which is always a great feeling.

6. At what point while you were creating music did you decide you wanted to sing?

I started singing in church long before I started creating music. I also started writing poetry around the same time so eventually it gravitated Into song writing. At first I was terrified of performing so writing was my main comfort zone, now the stage is where I really love to be.

7. What do you hope your legacy will be?

I want to be known for making a positive change in the world, especially regarding the way the music industry views women. There was a time in the industry where urban music was considered to be something that would never take off and now look where we are in regards to urban music and artists. I feel like this will eventually be how we look at taboos in the industry such as musicians not making it past a certain age and women being discarded as artists when they have children. The changes are slowly but surely happening!

8. You have the live experience coming on Saturday May 9th. What can the fans expect?

They can expect a feel good performance with me singing some amazing soulful classics and a few of my own gems in there.

9. How can fans follow you on social?

I’m @sophialeesoul on everything! I’ve made myself super easy to find.

Get your tickets for Sophia Lee Soul live this weekend here

--

--

Global 12 news
Global Sounds

Blogs and updates of the most promising artists around the world.