Why Did I March?

@Eva_Smith
Global Women Network
3 min readJan 23, 2017

I marched for women this weekend!

I marched for the women before me who sacrificed their lives to pave the foundation for women’s equal rights.

Women have come a long way, but we still have a long way to go towards equality. In the 1800s women would get attacked, beaten and arrested when they protested and tried to vote. In the 1960s women couldn’t serve on the jury, open a line of credit, and our job was threatened if we got pregnant, gained weight or if we didn’t have soft hands. Until 1974, banks refused to offer credit plans to anyone who was unmarried and anyone who was female. In the 1960s African American women could work on a NASA project to send the first man to the moon, but still couldn’t vote. It wasn’t until 1965 when African Americans were given the right to vote.

For over 169 years women have been advocating for equal rights. However, our voices are not reflected in the actions and legislation of our lawmakers, so we march, protest, organize and continue to march until our voices are heard.

I marched to ensure we, our children, grandchildren and women everywhere have full and healthy lives. We deserve to be free of all forms of violence, misogyny and sexist remarks against our bodies. Our children should grow up in a society where they feel loved, safe and are not oppressed.

I marched for my LGBTQ colleagues, friends and family members who deserve to be treated with dignity and respect and deserve equal rights and the right not to be discriminated for who they choose to love.

I marched for workers who don’t have family leave, equal pay or who are taken advantage by employers who don’t provide healthcare or paid vacations.

I marched for immigrants because we are a nation of immigrants and everyone should have an opportunity for a pathway towards citizenship.

I marched for disability rights because some disabilities are not visible, but still deserve healthcare and resources.

I marched for veterans who are in critical need of mental health, health care, monetary benefits and resources.

I marched for women everywhere, especially young women trapped in abusive relationships.

I marched for climate change and environmental justice because there is no plan B.

I marched for single moms and the single dads who have to hold down two or three part time jobs and still can’t pay their bills.

I marched for civil rights because its been over 150 years since slavery ended and we are still enslaving our men and women thru the private prison systems, election suppression and discrimination.

I marched for the single mom I met working at the airport on my way to the women’s march who yelled, “I wish I could go to the march”, but couldn’t take the day off to go or she would lose her job.

I marched for all the men who stayed at home caring for their families, the men that attended the march and the men who declare themselves as Feminists because THEY LISTEN and they GET IT.

I marched for the unseen and unheard cries of our nation.

Even if we are not personally experiencing any of the issues I mentioned above, it is our duty to stand in solidarity with those who are mostly impacted, the vulnerable and the marginalized.

I marched because we need to spread LOVE and tolerance, not hate.

I marched for YOU.

--

--

@Eva_Smith
Global Women Network

Award winning #Tech entrepreneur, #Engineer, #STEM Advocate, Tech Life Mag Editor, Chief Connector www.bloggersociety.com & Director www.globalwomensummit.org