Fatoumata

She rebuilt her business after devastating floods.

GlobalGiving
GlobalGoodness
1 min readFeb 21, 2020

--

Fatoumata is from the northern part of Sierra Leone. She is one of the many women who fled to the Colvert community during the 1991 civil war. She has now lived there for more than 24 years.

Fatoumata was operating a flourishing grocery business before her community was hit by the 2017 floods, in which many lives were lost. Losing everything she owned through the flood, life became very difficult for Fatoumata. Even affording three square meals was a challenge.

“The flood came in … and took away everything I had, and I did not have the capital to start up my business again.”

Today, Fatoumata has rebuilt her business through microloans provided by a local NGO, Advocacy Initiative for Development (AID) in Sierra Leone.

“I bless AID Sierra Leone for coming to my aid. Now, all my children are in school and I am able to buy them what they want.”

Learn more about AID, a GlobalGiving partner.

Story and photo by Dalila Sumani of the GlobalGiving Field Program

This is a story from GlobalGiving’s Voices from the Crowd series.

--

--

GlobalGiving
GlobalGoodness

The world is full of problems. GlobalGiving is full of solutions — powered by donors, companies, and nonprofits in 170+ countries.