Fatu

She walks 8 miles to agricultural school each day.

GlobalGiving
GlobalGoodness
2 min readMar 12, 2020

--

Fatu grew up and went to school in a remote community called Zor Zor, located in the Lofa county in Liberia. However, Fatu’s education unfortunately came to a halt in 8th grade when she got pregnant. Fatu recalls this difficult time in her life:

“I fell in love with a guy. He left me when I got pregnant. I eventually stopped schooling in 8th grade. Life wasn’t easy because I did not have any skills to get a job.”

Today, Fatu’s future is looking bright. She attends Camp for Peace Farmer Field School, an initiative by a GlobalGiving partner called Camp for Peace Liberia. The school gives Liberian youth the opportunity to learn agricultural theory and skills over a 10-month period. But perhaps the most interesting thing about the Camp for Peace Farmer Field school is that they provide students a monthly allowance of approximately $20 USD to encourage them to keep learning.

For Fatu, the Camp for Peace Farmer Field School represents hope and a path forward. The agriculture-centered school has not only provided her with skills but also developed her self-esteem.

“I walk 8 miles from Zor Zor to Salayea just to go to school and learn. This is because I want to be able to take care of my child with the skills I have learned… The ideas and knowledge I have gained here are worth it. It has made me different.”

Learn more about Camp for Peace Liberia, a GlobalGiving partner.

Story and photo by Dalila Sumani of the GlobalGiving Field Program

This is a story from GlobalGiving’s Voices from the Crowd series.

--

--

GlobalGiving
GlobalGoodness

The world is full of problems. GlobalGiving is full of solutions — powered by donors, companies, and nonprofits in 170+ countries.