Hugo

He believes in paying it forward.

Belén Loza
GlobalGoodness
2 min readMar 13, 2019

--

This is Hugo. He was one of the first students sponsored by Common Hope, an organization that provides educational opportunities in Guatemala. In the two decades since he was first sponsored by Common Hope, Hugo graduated from high school with a degree in elementary education, taught at a school for several years, and received his law degree.

Hugo believes in the power of pay it forward and now serves as the director of Semillas de Amor, a home for children who have been abandoned or orphaned.

“I’m always motivated to make positive changes in the lives of children.”

When Hugo finished his law degree and was promoted to director, he told Common Hope:

“I couldn’t believe it — it was too motivating, too exciting. It was like a dream. There were many people competing for the position that had more experience… But I knew the organization and the kids, which gave me an advantage. Still, I think a whole night passed before I could believe that they had chosen me.”

In his law school thesis dedication, he reflected on the people and the organization that made his “difficult but beautiful education” possible:

“Thank you for letting me dream.
Thank you for believing and trusting in me.
Thank you for being an organization that transforms the future of Guatemalans so that we have the desire to improve ourselves… My hands still tremble with emotion thinking that there are many people that worried and cared for me so much.”

Hugo continues to think of ways to pay it forward and hopes to one day have his own law office:

“To help people that need legal assistance but cannot afford to pay a lawyer. I want to support them.”

Donate to Common Hope to support students like Hugo.

This is a story from GlobalGiving’s Voices from the Crowd series.

--

--