Rawan

She helps Palestinians achieve their dreams.

Miranda Cleland
GlobalGoodness
2 min readJul 2, 2018

--

Rawan lives in Nablus, a large city in the northern Palestinian West Bank. Nablus, known for its knafeh and olive oil soap, is nestled in a valley between two mountains. Near the top of one of the mountains, Rawan works with Tomorrow’s Youth Organization to foster women’s entrepreneurial spirit.

“I was raised to always give back to the society, even if it was something as small as a smile. Ever since I was a little girl, I knew I wanted to help and work with others. I would volunteer whenever I had the chance. As I grew up and continued to volunteer, I realized how impactful humanitarian work is, not just on the beneficiaries, but on me. I became confident that this was the route I wanted to take on a professional level. I could not have been happier when I started working with Tomorrow’s Youth Organization (TYO),” Rawan said.

“I am happy to say that I am now supporting others on a full time basis. TYO enables children, youth, and parents to realize their potential as healthy, active, and responsible family and community members. We believe that, through informal education, knowledge, and healthy psychological and emotional well-being, we can contribute to building a stronger society. The passionate, selfless and warm-hearted individuals that I have met and worked with at TYO inspire me every day and make me want to give more and more. At TYO, I have learned that seeing others realize their ambitions is as meaningful as achieving one of your own!”

Rawan poses with a mosaic in the center of Nablus. In Arabic, the mosaic reads, “And because I am life, one day I will become as I want.”

Palestine is not an easy place to work, but Rawan fiercely believes in the spirit of Palestinian people.

“Palestine is a beautiful and welcoming country. We are kind, generous, and strong people. Palestinians have goals, aspirations, and dreams just like everyone else out there, but sometimes they are harder to actualize here. That doesn’t mean we give up; on the contrary, we strive harder to reach them. We recognize that, as Palestinians, we have to put in extra effort to achieve our ambitions.”

“I am extremely grateful that in some way or another, even if it’s small, I am helping my society.”

Support Rawan’s work by donating to Tomorrow’s Youth Organization.

This is a story from GlobalGiving’s Voices From The Crowd series.

--

--

Miranda Cleland
GlobalGoodness

Fan of sustainable development, global education, the environment, and breakfast food.