Weekly Round-Up, May 26th 2017

Emi Kihslinger
GlobeMed Alumni
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2017

Hey guys! Here’s your weekly roundup….5 items, updates, and nuggets of goodness from your fellow alumni. Please share any additional tidbits in the comments!

1. On Self-Care

“In my current career I work in a high stress environment and am consistently interacting with people going through some of the toughest challenges of their lives. In order to be my best for my patients I have to have work-life balance and take time to care for myself. Some things I do to unwind are reading, snuggling with my dogs and cats, and working out. I also turn to my friends, family, coworkers for support and to decompress. My fellow GlobeMedders are also a huge source of support for me.” — the lovely Katie Coakley, GlobeMed Alumni Secretary

2. What We’re Reading

“U.S. aid for international family planning would be eliminated.

Programs to combat HIV/AIDS in the world’s poorest countries would be slashed by 17 percent.

Efforts to fight malaria would be chopped by 11 percent.

Those are just some of the cuts to global health spending called for by President Trump in the proposed budget he unveiled this week.”

LINK

3. Hub Highlight

In the Denver/Colorado Springs area?? GlobeMedders out there are working on getting an Alumni Hub up and running! If you’re interested in getting involved, head on over to their page GlobeMed Alumni: Denver and say hi! Marrisa Mora is helping to get things running if you have any questions :)

4. Beef Up Your Feed

Need more global health goodness in your twitter feed? We’ve got you! Check out the top 10 global health accounts to make you smarter.

5. Talk Medium To Me

Interested in having something you’ve written posted on the newly minted GlobeMed Alumni blog? We’d love to hear from you! It can be GlobeMed-related, but it can also be about your work, about balancing work and life, about social justice, global health, or any other relevant topic! Get your voice out there. If your interested, send your work to emi.kihslinger@gmail.com and she’ll get back to you within 24 hrs!

Thanks to all you beautiful alumni out there…shine on! #Weeklyroundup

--

--

Emi Kihslinger
GlobeMed Alumni

Adventurer, lover, eater, writer, dreamer on my way to everywhere.