TRAVEL. CULTURE. CITY TRIP.

Évora or the City of a Million Chapels

A cultural expedition into Portugal’s past

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readJul 10, 2022

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

I’m not very religious or interested in visiting the church on Sunday. But on certain occasions, you’ll find me in religious buildings and sites searching for history, foreign traditions, and cultures.

The one thing Christians have done over the past is build higher, bigger, and more pompous churches, chapels, or cathedrals.

I don’t often find myself looking for those religious buildings but the city of Évora was calling for it. Hearing about a Chapel of Bones and seeing several churches on our evening walks through town, we were interested to find them and see how they look from the inside.

Credit: Anne Bonfert

After driving twice in the circle in an attempt of following the GPS to the wanted chapel, I gave in and just parked on the side of the road. Only later did we find out the navigation app wanted me to drive into one of those narrow alleyways and that’s why I always missed the turnoff.

We were anyway better off walking even if it meant we’d be on foot for a few kilometers.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.