Travel Writing/Photography/Singapore/Globetrotters

14 Photographs of Singapore, September and Me

My first Singapore trip

Osan Fernando
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readSep 29, 2022

--

The Merlion and Me at Sentosa/ Photo taken by AG.

September can never be a Sucktember or September morn. I have unforgettable memories of September: the beginning of the autumn season, my first Singapore trip and much more.

Singapore

In the span of 13 years, there are so many changes in Singapore: 6 MRT lines with more than 100 stations, the Marina Bay Sands, the Garden By The Bay and the Universal Studios.

But there are 3 things that never changed: the sunrise, the sunset and the weather. The September sunrise is still at 6.52 am, sunset at 6.58 pm and 29C even in a cloudy night.

My Memories of Singapore

1. Clarke Quay

My tongue had twisted in saying quay. So…it’s not qu-ay but ki. Different restaurants, different concepts, different kinds of food in that place.

One of the resto-bar in Clarke Quay/My Photo

Did you find it weird? It is.

It’s like a hospital. Customers were seated in a wheelchair and sipped their drinks through an IV drip.

Not sure if it’s still operational.

2. Skyline Skyride in Sentosa

Photo taken by the Author

Just the thought of it, I got cold feet. I might get dizzy up there, so I took my Bonamine.

The fear was only in my mind. Up there with the Skyride was all awe and excitement as I viewed the city’s skyline. The only fear left in me — my pair of shoes might fall. With that, a cold feet will be for real.

3. Orchard Road

The display at Ion Orchard/My Photo

Orchard Road is like the Fifth Avenue of New York and the Michigan Avenue of Chicago.

Ion Orchard is one of the shopping malls in the road. One of the exits of MRT’s Orchard station is inside the mall.

4. Merlion Park

The name is a combination of “mer”, meaning the sea, and “lion”. The fish body represents Singapore’s origin as a fishing village when it was called Temasek, which means “sea town” in Javanese. The lion head represents Singapore’s original name – Singapura – meaning “lion city” or “kota singa”…..wikipedia

This is a funny story.

From my photo album

Who knew selfie at that time? Not me. I wanted a photo with the Merlion. I looked around for someone who would be kind enough to click the camera for me. I saw that lady, asked her and she said yes. But she gave the camera to her husband and posed with me together with her daughter.

5. HDB / Public Housing in Singapore

I stayed with my cousin who used to work there. He and his two friends stayed in an HDB unit. They divided the rent and other expenses by 3.

The view from their unit/The other HDB/My Photo

Under the Housing and Development Board (HDB), public housing consisting of small units with basic amenities was constructed as quickly and cheaply as possible.

In 2020, 81% of the resident population in Singapore lived in public housing under the HDB.

6. Esplanade -Theatre on the Bay

The Esplanade/ Photo taken by the Author

Has been called “durian” by the locals as its spiky design resembles a durian.

It is the performing arts center of the country where the number of performances being held is higher than the number of days in a year.

The Esplanade is a 5-minute walk from the Merlion Park.

7. To Tampines MRT station

Photo taken by the Author

From my cousin’s place, I walked for around 15 minutes to reach the nearest MRT station, which is Tampines.

8. The Raffles Hotel

Photo taken by the Author

Raffles Hotel is considered to epitomize the cultural history of Singapore.

It was named after the founder of the city, Sir Stamford Raffles.

9. In Chinatown

One of the most photographed structures in Chinatown/Photo taken by the Author

The Chinatown defines cultural diversity and a mixture of the old and the new.

Traditional medicinal houses, herb shops and acupuncturists are still in business. Chap Kwon Onn Tong is an herbal shop.

Colorful vibrant old buildings, food, and cheap souvenir items are some of what Chinatown is all about.

10. Food Republic inside the Suntec

Photo taken by the Author

Food Republic is a food court like no other. Each outlet in its 12 branches has a theme, ranging from the colonial past to the present.

The Food Republic above is the one in Suntec City, where I had my first Hainanese Chicken.

Suntec City is a vast complex that houses a convention center, shopping malls, restaurants, office towers and a lot more.

I used MRT when I went there. After getting off at City Hall station, I walked through the Citylink Mall ( Singapore’s first underground mall) to reach Suntec. A very long walk.

As I watched people walking, I noticed that even young children had big muscles in their legs.

11. MRT of Singapore

Photo taken by the Author

This was in 2009 and Singapore knew how to protect commuters in its busiest stations.

Subway platform barriers are placed between the train tracks and the platform to prevent intentional or unintentional accidents.

Photo taken by the Author

The view from a moving MRT, along the route of Tampines to City Hall station.

One of my joys in traveling is the view from a moving train. No matter how ordinary and simple it is.

12. A washroom in Clarke Quay

Photo taken by the Author

Easy to distinguish the female washroom from the male washroom. Even in a hurry, no problem with which way is the right way.

❤️ ❤️

What not to love in Singapore? I can only say – the hot weather, the haze and the exchange rate of the Philippine peso to the Singapore dollar.

--

--

Osan Fernando
Globetrotters

A wanderer, a puzzle, a scribbler, a dentist who loves to write anything under the sun & travel anywhere without the sun. osannity25@gmail.com