3 Reasons Why You Should Not Move to France

Some clichés are très real.

Diana Bernardo
Globetrotters

--

Photo by author.

Don’t ask me how long I lived in France.

Putting it simply, I don’t know. I lived between Paris and Portugal for a few years, and can’t really add up all the little periods of time.

But I lived in Paris long enough to understand how life unfolds in the country. The truth is: you can have a pretty good life there. But nothing worth having comes easy, so the perks go side by side with some annoying challenges.

France is one of those places that most people have something negative to say about. I don’t have that many reasons, but I have some. Here they are:

1. Il Faut Parler Français (You Need To Speak French)

People have been complaining about this to me for years. It’s hard for them to navigate in France when they don’t speak the language, even if they’re just on holiday.

I thought they were exaggerating.

I speak fluent French, so I never had any such issues. But the truth is: it’s hard to get by in France if you don’t speak the language.

I had a reality check last month when I visited Paris with my girlfriend. She doesn’t speak French, so I ended up having to translate menus in most…

--

--