30 Days in Thailand: Part Three

A trip to the market

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters
4 min readSep 2, 2022

--

Busy Monday market in Phimai Thailand. Photo by author.

A trip to the store just isn’t a special occasion in the States. It’s a little different here, at least for now. Open air markets are the thing in Thailand, and every time I go there’s something new or shocking for me to see. Yesterday was a Monday, and that means the big market is open in Phimai.

Vendor churns out fresh sugarcane juice. Photo by author.

Sugarcane juice

I remember months ago, seeing Jen process and make this at a neighbor’s house. There’s absolutely no way it can be good for you. I looked for it throughout the entire market and finally found a vendor that sold it.

Fresh, chilled sugarcane juice. Photo by author.

They send the stalks through a machine that squeezes the liquid out, turning it into a delicious bottle of sugary sweetness. It hits the spot on a hot Thai afternoon.

Fish, Pork, or Chicken?

Hot and ready fish. I think it’s tilapia. Photo by author.

One thing you won’t see much of in Thailand is beef. I see beef cattle grazing from time to time, and I’m not sure why it’s not more popular here. Buffalos are actually more plentiful. Most times, you are lucky to find either one, with fish, chicken and pork being more popular. I often see octopus, crab, and shrimp for sell.

Healthy Food

Fresh vegetables at the market. Photo by author.

There are a lot of vegetables here that I have yet to identify. The bamboo shoots are great when cooked, and cucumbers and different strains of lettuce are always in fresh supply. Carrots, onions, peppers, brocolli, and bamboo shoots are favorites. Pesticide usage is very common here though, so it’s best to wash everything well before cooking or eating.

Freshly prepared delicious Thai food at the market. Photo by author.
Cannabis plants for sell at the market. Photo by author.

Cannabis!

What was the most amazing thing I saw on this trip to the market? It has to be the cannabis plants and paraphenalia. Anyone who has traveled to Southeast Asia before knows that they have very strict laws about drugs. This past year, Thailand began the process of legalizing cannabis. Though the law here still discourages the recreational use of the plant, it doesn’t seem to be enforced very strictly. I was shocked when Jen bought two plants and took them home.

Rain and a cool breeze to end the day. Photo by author.

Plants in the bed of the truck, blowing in the wind, we headed home. Just as I pulled in it started to rain. A torrential downpour soon followed. Frogs, crickets, and a cool evening breeze closed out the day.

Worms to snack on

But wait! We brought something home I wanted to try before bed. I saw these for sale in Chiang Khan, and was tempted to try them then. Roasted bamboo worms are full of protein and fiber. Here goes!

Roasted bamboo worms. Photo by author.
Down the hatch. Photo by author.
Oh, wet sawdust with a crispy shell. I think I’ll pass on bamboo worms next time. Photo by author.

Thanks for reading and make sure to follow me on Medium for part four of 30 days in Thailand. We have postponed travel because of heavy rains but are hoping for more sunshine soon.

--

--

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters

I’m an expat living in Thailand; a history and nature buff with degrees in History and Psychology.