Authentic Shandong cuisine. Photo via 163.com

5 Authentic Chinese Foods You Need to Try

Kade Maijala
Globetrotters

--

Chinese food is recognized as a yummy option for a meal throughout the western world. The food of the country has taken many different iterations outside of China. However, the majority of the food we may eat at Chinese restaurants are far from “true” Chinese food.

Throughout my two years in China, I’ve made it my mission to try as much food as possible. Each time I go out to eat or order Weimai (美團外賣), China’s most popular “UberEats like app,” I attempt to try a new restaurant or food.

Due to this, I’ve been blessed with immeasurable amounts of terrific food that, without moving to China, I may have never had the opportunity to try. Many of you may have heard of these foods or even tried them. To that, I say, terrific! However, this list is to help broadcast some of my favorite foods that are perhaps lesser known in the west.

I highly recommend trying to find a restaurant that serves these dishes in your area.

  1. Malatang (麻辣烫)

I can safely say that malatang is one of, if not my favorite, foods I’ve had in China, so much so that I order it nearly every week. The easiest way to paint a picture of the food is that it’s like Subway, but you decide the portions of your soup.

A wall masked with a refrigerator hosts an abundance of noodles, meat, veggies, and carbs for you to pick from. You put together your bowl, hand it over to the counter, and tell them how spicy you want it. I love spicy food, so I go for a 4 or 5 star. You then have an option of different sauces and oils to add to your spicy broth. My favorite is sesame paste and oil.

Malatang originates from the Sichuan province of China (my favorite Chinese cuisine). Known for their out-of-this-world spicy tastes, malatang is no different. It is believed that after being a staple within Sichuan, it had a mainstream spread throughout China in 2010.

This soup is customizable, cheap, and unbelievably tasty. If you are looking for a spicy meal on a rainy day, definitely search out a spot that offers Malatang.

Malatang featuring handpulled noodles, beef, beansprouts and mushrooms. Picture via WeekInChina.

2. Chinese Muslim Cuisine (清真马家)

This choice is less about one specific food and more about an entire cultural cuisine. Something I can’t say I’ve had in the U.S. is Chinese Muslim food. At least where I live in Qingdao, you will see one of these restaurants and every block. That is fantastic news, because this food is out of this world.

Most famous for their lamian (拉面) soups consisting of braised beef and hand-stretched rice noodles, there are also a plethora of different options to choose from. These include vinegar fried rice, noodles topped with tender lamb named laghman (拉条子), and roasted meat skewers named chuanr (串儿).

These are just a few cultural dishes that date back hundreds of years between the two primary Muslim groups in China, the Hui and Uyghurs. Both have a specific history that is incredibly interesting but much too important to be brushed over in this reading.

The main pull of these Muslim restaurants are the price and time of operation. The most you will spend to feed yourself in China is around 30 RMB, or $5.3 at the time of writing. Mix this with it being an incredible hangover food (sorry, Mom and Dad), and Chinese Muslim food is a one-of-a-kind experience you need to check out!

Spicy seasoned beef chuanr roasting over an open fire. Picture via Sohu.com

3. Soup Dumplings (水煎包 / 或者是灌汤包)

This is a food I just recently was introduced to in its natural form. Although more commonly known in the U.S, the dish deserves to be more widely recognized. Originating from Shanghai, soup dumplings are a staple in China.

Consisting of your choice of vegetables and meat in a savory beef broth. They’re so juicy that if you’re not careful, your bite will cover the person across you with soup.

Different restaurants have different iterations in terms of how the dough is prepared. My favorite is when the dumpling has a golden crispy casing in the warm beef broth. However, more commonly, you will see a softer, delicate dumpling casing the wonderful insides. Either way, both are delicious!

This food is perfect for a cold winter’s day on the go without having to carry a burdensome bag of soup. A small circle-like dumpling filled with a one-of-a-kind flavor packed bite. In the past two months, I can’t number the times I’ve ordered these.

As I mentioned, popular restaurants, including Din Tai Fung, carry soup dumplings, but they need to be in their perfect form. While soup filled dumplings are more commonly known than the other listings, I suggest you seek out these wonderful bite size masterpieces.

Shanghai soup dumplings. Photo via Newstime CN

4. Cabbage Stewed Vermicelli (白菜炖粉条)

Living in Shandong for two years, I’ve been pampered with 山东菜, or “Shandong Cuisine.” A wonderful mixture of light fish, rich tastes, and freshness. There are two specific styles, Jinan style, and Jiaodong style. Living first in Yantai and then Qingdao, I’ve experienced Jiaodong the most.

Cabbage stewed vermicelli is a staple of Jiaodong food. Soft vermicelli noodles pampered with cabbage and your choice of meat. Drowning in a delectable beef broth, it is a wonderful treat any given night. Lucky for me, nearly every restaurant in my area offers this one-of-a-kind dish.

Vermicelli dishes may be relatively easy to find in the U.S, but this specific Shandong staple has made me quite the happy eater. If you’re not able to find a restaurant near you that offers this meal, it is relatively easy to make at home. There are a number of recipes you can follow to create your own perfect cabbage stewed vermicelli.

Cabbage stewed vermicelli with fried fish. Photo via Kaloa.com

5. Biangbiang Noodles (面面 / 油泼扯面)

Biangbiang noodles hail from China’s Shaanxi province. I have many friends from this area, so they often take me out to Shaanxi style restaurants. These noodles are considered one of the eight best foods in the province, known for their thick cut style.

Shaanxi has particularly cold winters, so Biangbiang noodles are topped with red peppers to help warm up the consumer. These hand pulled noodles are often found with a spicy dressing and vegetables, including leek, Pak Choy, or parsley. Your choice of meat can also be added along with it.

These noodles have a reputation sometimes being as thick as a belt. This size, plus their delectable chewy texture and spice, make biangbiang noodles a winter meal to look forward to.

I enjoy a dry noodle dish, and biangbiang always hits the spot when it’s chilly. I highly recommend checking out these amazing noodles!

Spicy biangbiang noodles with leek. Photo via Red House Spice

Now That You Know the Food

Keep a lookout for restaurants that offer these meals. Perhaps they won’t be prepared the same way as their traditional form, but it’s worth the try either way. If you love Chinese food of any variation, these five foods can give you a closer look into some of the most popular foods within China.

While living in the U.S., I would always order dishes like orange chicken, General Tso’s, chowmein, and the like (and there’s nothing wrong with that!). However, living in China for two years and hopefully more, I can safely say whenever I return home, my Chinese food choice will take a much different direction.

The majority of these dishes have well-documented recipes online as well. If there are no restaurants near you that offer them, dip your toes into the culinary world and give these Chinese dishes a shot!

--

--