A Haunted Cemetery in Bogotá, Myths, and Legends Make History More Exciting

If you were to ask me what is one of my favorite things to do when visiting a new city, my answer would be morbid. It may surprise a few others, but maybe not so much.

Sara Burdick
Globetrotters

--

Bogotá Central Cemetery. Photo credit: Jon J

After I have walked the town and found coffee, I would research the most haunted thing to do, while sitting at the coffee shop. Usually, it is a cemetery; I will go immediately after I finish my coffee.

Because what is better than being hopped up on caffeine while ghost hunting?

Cafe de Colombia. Photo Credit: Sara B.

I believe in honoring the spirits; part of that is knowing the history of the place I am visiting. With history come myths, legends, and stories.

The dark and the light knowing the history of a location helps keep the memories alive and hopefully will prevent history from repeating itself.

“Disregard for the past will never do us any good. Without it we cannot know truly who we are.”
Syd Moore

--

--

Sara Burdick
Globetrotters

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick