A Trip Through Wyoming’s National Parks: Yellowstone and Grand Teton

Parks #1 and 2 of 63

Claire Elizabeth Levesque
Globetrotters

--

Photo by Author

As some of you may know, I’ve recently decided that I’m going to try to see every national park in the US (you can read that article here). I visited a few as a little kid with my family, but I don’t remember them very well, so I’m only counting the ones I’ve visited as an adult. So far, that’s Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park.

I visited them as part of a road trip I took back in 2019. Although it’s a few years (and a pandemic) later, I still think about that trip a lot — and since I’ve decided to make traveling to national parks a priority in the next couple of years, I figured now would be a good time to reflect back on it and write about my experience.

Yellowstone National Park

First of all, let me just say that no matter how much you hear about Yellowstone, or even how many pictures you look at, nothing can prepare you for how breathtaking (and at times bizarre) it is in person. I saw some of the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen in my life there, and certain parts of the park are completely otherworldly. I guess it’s no surprise that this was the very first national park to be created back in 1872!

That being said, I do have what I’m sure will be a pretty unpopular opinion…

--

--