TRAVEL | SUDAN | KASSALA | NORTH AFRICA

A Visit To Kassala, Sudan

Home of the Taka Mountains and the Gash River.

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Globetrotters
Published in
9 min readJul 7, 2022

--

The Taka Mountains in Kassala, Sudan. April 2021 Photo Credit: Author

I haven’t written much at all about our travels through Sudan, although I did do a weekly video series on YouTube while we were there. But, lately, I’ve been feeling like I need to write more about it.

We traveled to Sudan by bus from Egypt at the end of January 2021. It’s crazy to think it was that long ago already.

Of course, we had reservations about going to Sudan. We had heard all the bad stories about the violence and problems that the country has faced. But we had also read that they had a new government and that things had stabilized over the past couple of years. We were desperate to get out of Egypt, and since we were already in the south of the country, Sudan was the next logical choice.

I’m happy to say that Sudan was an incredible country to visit, and our stay was made even more impressive by the kindness and hospitality of the Sudanese people.

--

--

Jillian Amatt - Artistic Voyages
Globetrotters

Sharing authentic experiences from my life as an artist, nomad / traveler and serious steward of our beloved planet. I aim to Spread Love Through Art.