TRAVEL. ROAD TRIP.

Arriving in Budapest — The Historical Heart of Hungary

The first stop of our road trip through eastern Europe

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readNov 6, 2022

--

Liberty bridge. | Credit: Anne Bonfert

We’re always looking for new adventures and different ways to explore the world. While I’ve driven countless times through Hungary together with my parents on our way to Romania, we’ve never stopped longer than to fuel our car. Hungary was a drive-through country for us.

But not anymore.

David taught me to see Europe with different eyes again. Growing up in Southern Africa, he has a very different view of landscapes, people, and destinations.

And as we were planning our road trip to Romania, a trip my father has done more often than he can still count, David changed things up a little.

“Let’s stop in Budapest.”

Why not? These were my thoughts about it while my father had suggested driving all the way to Romania in one go. A trip of possibly 20 hours on the road. Yes, he’s done that multiple times. Alone. We were three drivers and surely could have done that but on this trip, my father is going to learn a bit more about

“The journey is the destination.”

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.