GLOBETROTTERS

Aurora Calling

Icelandic Adventures in April

Sandy Maximus
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Picture of the northern lights.
Northern Lights captured on the iPhone (SM Author, 2024)

Did you learn about Aurora Borealis in school? I didn’t.

Thanks to social media and friends writing about their experiences and sharing pictures, I learned about the natural light display (also known as the Northern Lights) only a few years back.

After narrowing it down to a few countries in higher latitudes around the Arctic Oval that are best for viewing, I set my sights on Iceland.

Why?

A. It is a 5-hour hop from New York — the shortest travel time to view the Northern Lights compared to getting to Alaska, northern parts of Canada, Norway, or Finland.

B. As reported by many Medium friends who visited Iceland, the land of fire and ice has a reputation for offering some of the most unforgettable experiences.

After more than four years of planning with different iterations: with family, with kids, and on a solo trip, I finally made the trip with my boyfriend. I couldn’t have asked for a better travel companion!

A plethora of articles about traveling in Iceland have been shared. I wanted to report on the activities that were new and dear to me.

1. Aurora wake-up calls

--

--

Sandy Maximus
Globetrotters

An academic, a mother, and a wanna-be writer in (pre) cancer treatment with interests from travel to tennis, personal stories, and life lessons.