Bursting My Western Travel Bubble

I stepped outside my comfort zone to transform my worldview

Matt Lillywhite
Globetrotters

--

A Wizz Air A321 plane sits at the departure gate of an airport.
A Wizz Air A321 plane waits to depart. Photo taken by the author.

London’s Heathrow airport is eerily empty during the early hours of the morning. Among the announcements and weary travelers, I sit, quietly observing. Across from me, an older gentleman flashes a warm smile, and says he’s about to visit his 100th country.

“Which has been your favorite so far?” I ask, my curiosity piqued.

“Laos,” he says, eyebrows raised at the visible shock on my face. “Going there was a beautiful chapter in my life story, filled with kindness, flavors, and unforgettable moments.”

“I wish I could travel to lots of countries,” I reply.

“You can,” the man tells me. “But you first need to step outside of your comfort zone and embrace the unknown.”

London’s Heathrow Airport at 5.45am. Despite being one of the world’s busiest airports, there’s hardly anyone here besides myself and a couple of weary travelers. Photo taken by the author.

I can’t help but feel a tinge of fear as the plane touches down in Istanbul. It’s not every day that I find myself immersed in such a diverse and unfamiliar culture. So, I wonder if I’ve made the right decision to visit Türkiye.

I wander through Istanbul’s historic Taksim Square, where a giant monument stands to…

--

--

Matt Lillywhite
Globetrotters

Full-time storyteller. Want to talk about writing? I'm offering video calls for people who sign up to my Substack. https://mattlillywhite.substack.com/