Comparing Mexico’s Chichen Itza, Teotihuacan and Monte Alban Sites

Jo Muller
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readFeb 20, 2023

--

I have been fortunate enough to have already visited three of Mexico’s most important Archaeological sites

Me exploring the Pyramids of Teotihuacan, Photo by author

Having been to Mexico on two separate occasions in the past 11 months, I am fortunate enough to be in a position to compare its three most popular Archaeological sites, the Maya site of Chichen Itza, the Aztec site of Teotihuacan and finally the Zapotec site of Monte Alban.

As I love exploring Historical Temples, Cities and Archaeological sites, a visit to these three impressive places was an absolute Must for me personally, and I’m indeed very proud to have managed to visit these three sites in 2022.

For anyone that loves History, Mythology and Archaeology, exploring these three Archaeological sites is one of the main reasons to visit Mexico, and thus, in today’s article, I am going to share my experience and compare the ups and downs of each of the three sites so that any Archaeology and History Lovers among you will know what they’ll get themselves into, or which one they should prioritise on their next trip to Mexico!

I will kick off this comparison in the order in which I visited the 3 sites, thus I will start with the most famous one: Chichen Itza.

Chichen Itza

--

--

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

Travel passionate and Life enthusiastic boy from Luxembourg, sharing experiences and guidelines from my travels and personal growth IG: jo.elviajero