Copenhagen Dreaming

The city that will forever be my favorite

Kristine Harper
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readJul 22, 2024

--

The harbor area. Photo by author

Copenhagen is my city. I still feel like that, even after having moved (far) away and not lived here for years. It still feels like home.

I’ve walked through its parks with my boys when they were little chubby babies sleeping in warm blankets in their prams.

I’ve cycled along its lakes for a decade on my way to work.

I’ve discussed world peace and literature and art with my friends at its cafes and bars for countless hours.

I know its streets and parks, and museums and galleries like the back of my hand.

And furthermore, it is home to my closest friends.

In other words, this place has a special place in my heart, which is also why this guide and description might be a tad bias. I hope you can bear with me.

The National Gallery of Denmark. Photo by author

I just spent ten days in Copenhagen. And from the moment I arrived, the special Copenhagen feeling seeped through my bones and made me feel at home and eager to get out walk and cycle and sit at the harbor area with a glass of white wine and wind in my hair.

--

--

Kristine Harper
Globetrotters

Author, sustainability nut, and blogger at The Immaterialist. Explorer of uncultivated behaviour and tropical nature. Follow me on Insta @the_immaterialist