Death Valley, Adventure, and Wildlife

Death Valley Days

Or how I camped and hiked in the desert without burning up

Randy Runtsch
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readMar 20, 2024

--

Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes in Death Valley National Park. © 2024 Randy Runtsch.

“I like this place and could willingly waste my time in it.” ― William Shakespeare

Death Valley is one of Earth’s hottest, driest, and lowest places. Even so, the valley in California’s Mojave Desert had attracted me for decades.

Finally, my desire to camp and hike in Death Valley got the best of me. I decided to fulfill my desire.

I packed ultralight camping gear into a large suitcase for the solo trip.

Then, I flew from Minneapolis to Las Vegas and rented a car. After stocking up on groceries and drinking water, I drove west 120 miles (193 km) to Furnace Creek Campground in Death Valley National Park.

The author’s tent at Furnace Creek Campground. © 2024 Randy Runtsch.

The sun-heated air felt like a blast furnace; worse, there was no breeze.

After setting up the tent, I wondered about the elevation and the air temperature.

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Globetrotters

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer