TRAVEL & PHOTOGRAPHY

Discover the Many Faces of Graz

The Second Largest City of Austria

Elvie
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readSep 24, 2022

--

Graz Austria
Graz city center during my visit they have Beer Feast. Image by Elvie Lins

Graz is the capital of Styria and the second-largest city in Austria after Vienna. It has a population of about 280,000 and is located in the east of the country, near the border with Slovenia. The city is known for its universities, museums, and theaters, as well as for its medieval old town.

Graz city fascinates me with its history and I am about to share this with you.

My husband and I went for a little hike towards the Schlosberg . (Clocktower)

I notice this huge statue of a Lion facing the city and I thought, wow, just like we have in Singapore.

The Hackher Lion- Image by Elvie Lins

The Hackher Lion

In May of 1809, Major Franz Hackher zu Hart received orders to defend the Schlosberg against Napoleon’s Troops. Together with 17 officers and 896 soldiers, they held the fortress against the mighty foe.

The French with 3000 men, launched unsuccessful assaults. Only after an armistice had been arranged, Hackher withdraw his men. Thus, the Hackher Lion is erected.

--

--

Elvie
Globetrotters

Writes about #Travel, #Photography, #Life, and #Poetry. Message me at @successwitheve on Twitter and email me at successwitheve@gmail.com