Dominican Republic Adventures

My trips to The Dominican Republic

Pamela Oglesby
Globetrotters

--

Photo By neufal54 on Pixabay

Trip To the Dominican Republic (DR)

I made a trip to the Dominican Republic (DR). It was in January, and the weather is lovely after the cold of the United States, plus nature is still in bloom.

I flew into the Santo Domingo Airport, enjoying flying over the beautiful blue, sometimes turquoise, ocean with numerous islands below. Even at 44,000 feet, you could tell that most islands were too small to be inhabited.

I came to visit my son and his family and to see the wonderful sites of the DR. They live in a small town about two hours west of the capital. Santo Domingo is the oldest colonial city in the Americas

Author Photo

On To Azusa

My son picked me up at the airport, and the first shock was the volume of traffic in Santa Domingo. It seemed more chaotic than what I recalled from visiting Mexico City. Two lanes didn’t mean a thing to the Dominican people.

Often three vehicles with a few motorcycles thrown in was the norm for a double-lane road. My son’s explanation was:

--

--

Pamela Oglesby
Globetrotters

I have been writing online for 15 years. I have won 5 Medium top writer awards,. I write about medical issues, human interest and relationship stories..