Edinburgh: The Intellectual Influencer

Following the footsteps of the Scottish literati.

Lina Ignatova
Globetrotters

--

Image by David Mark from Pixabay

The Contradictions

– Let’s play a game!

– What game?

– Associations.

– Ok!

– I’ll go first. Scotland.

– Kilts.

– Wrong.

– What do you mean wrong?

– Kilts are not Scottish.

– Yes, they are.

– No they’re not.

– Well, even if we suppose they weren’t, it’s still what I associate the country with.

– I’m telling you, neither kilts, nor tartan originate from Scotland. Same goes for whiskey.

– No way?!

– True story! You see, Scotland is a country of contradictions. It’s best known for things it didn’t invent but excels in, such as whiskey, kilts, haggis, bagpipes, and tweed. But you’ll be surprised how many other things that people take for granted today, were actually invented by the Scots.

– Like what?

– For example, the TV, the phone, penicillin… and gin&tonic, of course. The funny thing is the country produces 9000 different malt whiskeys, yet there are no…

--

--

Lina Ignatova
Globetrotters

Curiousity is the backbone of my character, questioning–the door keeper of my mind. Because life fascinates me, I wander, wonder, and write about it.